The four candidates for Division 1 … from left, Levi Madeley, Jane Erkens, Tony Edwards and Rebecca Jackson
South Burnett mayor Brett Otto praised the candidates for having the courage to run for Council

April 17, 2022

The Nanango Tourism and Development Association invited the four candidates who will be contesting the upcoming Division 1 South Burnett Regional Council by-election to speak at a forum held in Nanango on Thursday night.

The forum, hosted by NaTDA president Sharon Johnson and vice-president Terry Mackrell, was scheduled to be held in the Long Hai Room at the Nanango RSL Club but so many residents turned up it was moved to the adjacent Tara’s Hall.

Each candidate was allotted a timed 10 minutes to speak, followed by a short question and answer session from the audience.

Topics covered included the future of the town and region, water, roads and recycling.

South Burnett mayor Brett Otto also spoke briefly, thanking NaTDA for organising the night and the candidates for having the courage to put up their hands to stand for Council.

“It’s not easy to put yourself out there in public life and be subject to scrutiny. It’s not an easy thing to do,” he said.

He also thanked the audience for taking an interest in the future of their community.

* * *

Listen To The Candidates’ Speeches

The speeches were delivered on the night in Ballot paper order, ie. Rebecca Jackson, Levi Madeley, Tony Edwards and Jane Erkens.

The speeches were then followed by a short Q&A session from the audience in Tara’s Hall:

NaTDA president Sharon Johnson and vice-president Terry Mackrell … Terry chaired the forum

* * *

The election for Division 1 will be held on Saturday, April 30.

A polling booth will be open at Nanango State School from 8:00am to 6:00pm.

Pre-poll voting will also be available at the Council offices in Drayton Street from 9:00am to 5:00pm on April 26-28; and 9:00am to 6:00pm on April 29.

Telephone voting will not be available.

The by-election has been called due to the resignation of Cr Roz Frohloff on March 23.

Voting is compulsory for all people enrolled to vote in Division 1.

* * *

Related articles: 

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.