Brett Simpson scored 56 runs for Wooroolin Warriors before he was bowled by Jaden Heness

March 8, 2024

Murgon Diggers will take on Tingoora Vikings in the South Burnett Senior Cricket Grand Final this weekend after downing Wooroolin Warriors last Saturday.

In fact, it was a great weekend for the Murgon club, after their A Grade team Crusaders also defeated Wooroolin’s A Graders in the last round of the Gympie competition (see below).

Murgon teams will now be playing in two Grand Finals in two competitions this Saturday.

Diggers earned their Grand Final spot by downing Wooroolin Warriors by 11 runs at Murgon Showgrounds’ Stables field.

Murgon won the toss and batted first.

At the end of their 40 overs they were 9/174 with Ashley Louis not out 46.

Top scorer was Jonathon Kapernick with 47.

Archie Koehler (2/23 off six overs) and Roger Hoare (2/11 off six) were the best of the Warriors’ bowlers.

In reply, Wooroolin was all out for 163 in the 33rd over.

Brett Simpson (56) and John McDonald (43) were the top scorers.

Paul Clegg (11) and Chanse Old (10) were the only other Warriors’ batters to reach double figures.

Theodore Kelly (3/44 over eight overs) and Andrew Roderick (3/20 off 6.2) finished with the best bowling figures for Diggers.

The Grand Final this weekend will be a tough ask for Diggers.

Vikings will be playing on their home ground and have been unbeaten all season.

Andrew Roderick took three wickets for Murgon Diggers
John McDonald kept the scoreboard ticking over for Wooroolin, hitting four 6s on his way to 43 runs
Chanse Olm hit 10 runs for Wooroolin but also took two wickets

* * *

SB Junior Cricket

Stage 2

  • Kingaroy Kookaburras (3/185) def. Tingoora Vikings (4/115) by 70 runs at Tingoora Sportsground.

Kingaroy innings: Darcy Hampton 29, Ethan Hood 22; Joshua Lamping 1/17 and Isiah Geysing 1/23
Tingoora innings: Ben Reilly 37, Deegan Johannessen 15; Max Curtis 2/14 and Lachlan Darcy 1/6

Stage 3

  • Kingaroy (5/208) def. Nanango Scorpions (146 all out) by 62 runs at Taabinga State School.

Kingaroy innings: Jayden Prendergast 55, Joe Carney 32 not out; Jamie Sherwell 1/15 and Hudson Murphy 1/22
Nanango innings: Angus Elford 49, Hudson Murphy 74; Darcy Harmsworth 3/12 and Mason Fuller-Sandys 2/6

* * *

SB Junior Rep Cricket  

Bundaberg (3/118) defeated South Burnett (117 all out) by seven wickets in the Grand Final of the U16s Intercity Challenge, played on Sunday at Bundaberg.

South Burnett innings: Brayden Scott 40, Tom Town 16
Bundaberg innings: Tom Town 1/13 and Brayden Scott 1/21

Tom Town also played recently in the Wide Bay team at the Open Schoolboys Championships in Bundaberg, earning selection in the Queensland Open Schoolboys squad to play NSW in August.

* * *

Riley Sippel took four wickets, and bowled two maidens, in his 12 overs for Murgon Crusaders

Gympie A Grade Two-Day Competition

Murgon Crusaders notched up an easy victory in the last round of the Gympie A Grade Two-Day competition on Saturday.

Day 2 of the local derby with Wooroolin Warriors was played at Lyle Vidler Oval in Kingaroy.

Murgon wrapped up Day 1 on February 24, declaring at 5/263.

In reply, Wooroolin Warriors were all out for 104 after 43.4 overs on Saturday.

Fletcher Brown (23) and Jackson Kerkow (12) were the top-scorers.

Riley Sippel (4/33 off 12 overs) and Nicholas Sanewski (3/23 off 8.4) did the damage for Murgon.

Crusaders’ second innings (7/62 off 14.3 overs) just rubbed salt into the Warriors’ wounds: Jason Webber 25, Nicholas Sanewski 16; James Whiteman 3/20 and Kyron Tunstall 2/7.

Murgon Crusaders will now face Gympie Valleys at Keith Manthey Oval in Gympie on Saturday in the Grand Final of the A Grade Two-Day competition.

Nicholas Sanewski took three wickets for Murgon Crusaders
James Whiteman scored eight runs for Wooroolin before he was out stumped
Fletcher Brown top scored for Wooroolin Warriors’ A Graders last Saturday with 23 runs

* * *

The victorious Wooroolin Warriors after their Grand Final victory last Saturday (Photo: GRCA)

Gympie A Grade One-Day Competition

The delayed Grand Final of the Gympie A Grade One-Day competition was played on Sunday at Keith Manthey Oval in Gympie.

Wooroolin Warriors, coming off their loss against Crusaders in Kingaroy on Saturday, this time faced off against Gympie Harlequins.

And this time were triumphant!

Warriors won the toss and elected to bat.

At the end of their 40 overs, Warriors were 8/181 with Matthew Dugdell top-scoring with 86 runs (including seven 4s and three 6s).

Kieran Askin was not out on 51.

In reply, Harlequins were all out for 105 in the 35th over.

Three Wooroolin bowlers did the damage: Caylan Brown (3/13), Michael Davies (3/24) and Kieran Askin (3/14).

Warriors defeated Harlequins by 76 runs.

* * *

Queensland Fire

It wasn’t the result that Queenslanders wanted, but Courtney Sippel could still hold her head high after the recent final of the Women’s National Cricket League series.

The Queensland Fire earned a spot in the final after a decisive win over Western Australia.

But they were facing reigning champions Tasmania, who have won the Ruth Preddy Cup back-to-back.

The game was played at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on February 24.

Queensland won the toss and elected to bat.

Sippel added 11 handy runs at the end of the Fire’s innings, and was not out at the end of the 50 overs.

Queensland was 7/248.

Tasmania overtook the total in the 48th over for the loss of four wickets.

Sippel finished with 0/33 off her seven overs.

* * *

This Weekend’s Games

Junior Cricket (games start at 8:30am)

  • Stage 1, Stage 2 and Stage 3 teams will be playing friendly games against players from the Central Burnett at the Alan Downie Sportsfields, Nanango.

SB Senior Competition – Grand Final (12:30pm start)

  • Tingoora Vikings v Murgon Diggers at Tingoora Sportsground

Gympie A Grade Two-Day Competition – Grand Final (12:30pm start)

  • Murgon Crusaders v Gympie Valleys at Keith Manthey Oval, Gympie



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.