Rick Rouse, Clare Heygens and Simon Watt warm up at Maidenwell on Saturday morning with a big weekend of racing ahead of them
James Hepburn, from the Eclipse Pro Cycling team, crosses the line in first spot after the 144km road race

July 9, 2012

If you were driving around Maidenwell or Kingaroy at the weekend, you could be forgiven for thinking the Tour de France had taken a wrong turn …

Sixteen teams of six cyclists competing in Round 4 of the Queensland Road Teams Series battled it out in the foothills of the Bunya Mountains and on some of Kingaroy’s toughest climbs.

John Osborne, from Cycling  Queensland, told southburnett.com.au the weekend had been a great success.

Five rounds of the annual competition are held in regional areas.

“Kingaroy is the only town we have been to twice and this is because of the wonderful co-operation from the South Burnett Regional Council, police and Main Roads,” Mr Osborne said.

He also paid special tribute to the local SES volunteers whom he said had done an outstanding job.

Mr Osborne said the local road network allowed organisers to develop both interesting and testing circuits to challenge the riders.

This year riders battled it out with three laps of a 37km circuit at Maidenwell on Saturday, and four laps of a 36km  course in Kingaroy on Sunday.

Last year the racers came for just one day; this year the 96 riders and their support crews stayed overnight, providing a real boost to the local economy.

The riders will now head to the final one day event of the series, which will be held in Murrarie in Brisbane on July 29.

Full Results

1. Samuel Witmitz – Team Budget Forklifts
2. Stuart Mulhern – The Team Down Under
3. Kristian Juel – Erdinger Alkoholfrei-Downer EDI Mining

1. James Hepburn – Eclipse Pro Cycling
2. Maxime Ruphy – Pensar Hawk
3. Ryan McAnally – Team Budget Forklifts

1. Marc Williams – Team Budget Forklifts
2. Jordan Kerby – Eclipse Pro Cycling
3. Correy Edmed – Balmoral Cycling Club

Lead Rider – Jordan Kerby
Sprint King – Alex Wohler
King of  the Mountains – Kristian Juel
Over 35 – Darren Rolfe
Young Rider – Jordan Kerby

The peloton climbs one of the many Kingaroy hills during Sunday’s road race
(Photo: John Miller)

Deputy Mayor Cr Keith Campbell congratulates Jordan Kerby who was presented with the Lead Rider and Young Rider jerseys

Darren Rolfe was presented with the grey jersey for leading the Over 35 competition; Darren has has a firm grip on this position 

Kristian Juel moved into top position in the King of the Mountains competition after conquering the South Burnett hills

Alex Wohler went into the weekend with the green sprint jersey; after a weekend of racing he’s still ahead of the pack

Sixteen teams of six riders head out from Maidenwell on Day 1 of the competition
(Photo: Peter Verbakel)

Cr Keith Campbell with the President of Cycling Queensland Mike Victor

Peter Verbakel was given certificates of thanks for the Nanango and Kingaroy SES groups

Line Honours winners on Sunday, from left, Ryan McAnally (3rd), James Hepburn (1st) and Maxime Ruphy (2nd) with Cr Keith Campbell and Mike Victor

Winners across the weekend of competition, from left: Correy Edmed (3rd), Marc Williams (1st) and Jordan Kerby (2nd) with Cr Campbell

The traffic was a bit heavier than usual for a Sunday in Walter Road, Kingaroy ….

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Position Vacant, Hobbs And Associates, Wondai - click here