FLASHBACK: Nanango musician Tony Cisneros was inducted into the South Burnett Music Hall of Fame at the inaugural awards last year

March 12, 2024

The finalists for the second annual South Burnett Music Awards have been announced by organiser Warren Gould.

The awards, which are being auspiced by the Blackbutt Benarkin Lions Club, will be held from 7:00pm on Thursday, March 21, at the Hotel Radnor in Blackbutt.

A weeknight has been chosen to allow local musicians, who could be playing at gigs on weekends, to attend.

Awards will be distributed in six categories, including an award decided by popular vote (see below).

As well, the Jeff and Daph Connor Award will be presented to a student in Years 7-9, ie. an instrument and/or music lessons up to the value of $2200 (inc GST).

This bursary aims to encourage and support a student who displays a strong desire to continue their pursuit and enjoyment of music.

The award recipient will:

  • Find joy in music,
  • Show commitment and dedication to improve their music enjoyment, in whatever form it takes,
  • Voice a willingness to share and hone their music skills and share their music ability across appropriate venues in the South Burnett and south-east Queensland, and
  • Have a strong desire to pursue music.

Tickets to attend the awards night can be booked online, with organisers warning they may not be available at the door.

Cost is $28.84, with $2 from every ticket sold going to Rockin’ Our Abilities at Murgon.

Residents outside Blackbutt can take advantage of a bus which will be running from Murgon on the night, with pick-ups along the way at Wondai, Kingaroy, Nanango and Yarraman.

Cost is $15 per person but the number of seats available is limited (book online with your tickets).

As well, the Hotel Radnor bus will be conducting free pick-ups in the Blackbutt area (book online with your tickets).

* * *

Short-Listed Award Nominees

People Of The Industry’s Choice (popular vote)

Voted on by the public to recognise the commitment to their own music and the growth of the South Burnett live music industry:

  • Louise ‘The Diva’ Winton
  • Rufus Jack
  • Natalie Fenton
  • Amber Goldsmith
  • Mr Q

Youth Musician Of The Year

A South Burnett-based musician under 25 who has shown commitment and drive in their music and music performances:

  • Lily Heiner
  • Cooper Mollenhauer
  • Nathan Hartley
  • Justine Evangelista

Music Industry Encouragement Award

To reward a person in the music industry who has shown a special commitment to the industry and deserves encouragement in their work:

  • Tina Torrens
  • Sonia McMahon
  • Amos Pellas
  • Paul Ricketts
  • Lloyd Back

Country Musician Of The Year (a new category for 2024)

To reward a person in country music who has shown a special commitment in the industry and has achieved recognition in country music via accolades, chart position or music honour:

  • Lloyd Back
  • Dean Perrett
  • Larry Cann
  • Paul Ricketts
  • Amber Goldsmith

Live Music Venue Of The Year

A South Burnett venue which has supported local acts and prioritised live music throughout the year:

  • Kingaroy RSL Club
  • Murgon RSL Club
  • Commercial Hotel, Nanango
  • Hotel Radnor, Blackbutt
  • Carrollee Hotel, Kingaroy

Inductee Into The South Burnett Music Hall Of Fame

To recognise outstanding contributions to live music in the South Burnett and/or for showcasing South Burnett music talent to a State or national audience:

  • Matt Phillips
  • Rob Fitz-Herbert
  • Dean Perrett
  • David Nugent
  • Jo Kennedy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.