Nanango musician Tony Cisneros is the inaugural inductee into the South Burnett Music Hall of Fame

March 27, 2023

The Carrollee Hotel’s beer garden in Kingaroy was almost packed to overflowing last Thursday night for the inaugural South Burnett Music Awards.

Taking out the top award was popular musician Tony Cisneros, from local band Mr Q, who also owns the music production business, Phantom Studios, in Nanango.

Tony was presented with a trophy and inducted into the South Burnett Music Hall of Fame.

Other winners on the night (full list, below) included the Hotel Radnor, Blackbutt; and Heath Kinsella, from Wondai.

The awards were the brainchild of Blackbutt musician Warren Gould who believed it was high time the quality of the musicians in the South Burnett’s live music scene was recognised.

He also wanted to salute the various venues that host live music as well providing an opportunity for people in the local music industry to relax and socialise.

Nominations were invited from within the local industry and then reviewed by an independent panel of judges: Chantal Harth (CROW-FM), Damien Martoo (Kingaroy Chamber of Commerce and Industry) and Sheena Lindholm (Push Pull Marketing).

The awards also had a serious side … to raise money to support young musicians in local State schools who cannot afford their instrument costs and other fees.

Cash was raised through ticket sales, donations and a raffle on the night and will be distributed after applications to Warren and his small committee.

Nanango musician Amber Goldsmith also started the ball rolling by donating a six-string banjo.

The awards night was compered by Simon Neal who announced the various artists who performed as well as introducing the guest presenters.

The evening began with a few songs by host Warren Gould and Nathan Hartley, on keyboard. Dave Lynch also rocked the venue with an impressive set.

The night was topped off by an impromptu performance of several songs – including the CCR classic ” Midnight Special” – by many of the musos present who took over the stage.

The inaugural South Burnett Music Awards was auspiced by South Burnett Arts Inc and sponsored by the South Burnett Regional Council, Harvey Norman Kingaroy, Bill Hull Car Centre, Phantom Studios Nanango, the Carrollee Hotel, the Hotel Radnor, CROW-FM, Push Pull Marketing, Burnett Today and South Burnett Online.

* * *

South Burnett Music Award Winners

Warren Gould presented the Youth Musician of the Year Award to Heath Kinsella, from Wondai

Youth Musician of the Year – A South Burnett-based musician under 24 who has shown commitment and drive in their music and music performances. The nominees were:

  • Chloe Sharp
  • Heath Kinsella
  • Lily Heiner
  • Nathan Hartley
Shaz Birkett, right, from sponsors CROW-FM, presented the Live Music Venue of the Year Award to manager Fiona Beitzel and publican Brett Jones, from the Hotel Radnor in Blackbutt

Live Music Venue of the Year – A South Burnett venue which has supported local acts and prioritised live music throughout the year. The nominees were:

  • Carrollee Hotel
  • Maidenwell Hotel
  • The Shed, Nanango
  • Murgon Services Club
  • Hotel Radnor
Principal sponsor Steve Glare, from the Carollee Hotel, presented the Music Industry Engagement Award to Kelsey Anderson, from Brilliant Music Co, Nanango

Music Industry Encouragement Award – To reward a person in the music industry who has shown a special commitment to the industry and deserves encouragement in their work. The nominees were:

  • Dan Newland
  • Amos Pellas
  • Kelsey Anderson
  • Brett Chaseling
  • Larry Cann
Sponsor Sheena Lindholm, from Push Pull Marketing, presented the People’s Choice Award to Nanango band Mr Q … Tony Cisneros accepted the award on behalf of the band

People of the Industry’s Choice Award – Voted on by everyone in attendance at the awards on Thursday night. The nominees were:

  • Ryza
  • Mr. Q
  • Soul Good
  • Barambah Big Band
  • Paul Ricketts
Local sporting legend Carl Rackemann, right, presented the Hall Of Fame Inductee award to Tony Cisneros … Warren Gould, left, handed over the Perpetual Trophy

Inductee into the South Burnett Music Hall of Fame – To recognise an outstanding contribution to live music in the South Burnett, and / or for showcasing South Burnett music talent to a State or national audience. The nominees were:

  • Robert Fitz-Herbert
  • Tony Cisneros
  • Matt Phillips
  • Jane Erkens
  • Andrew Beckett
Simon Neal compered the awards evening at the Carrollee Hotel

* * *

At The Awards

Cr Danita Potter, music awards organiser Warren Gould and Cr Jane Erkens … Cr Erkens and her venue, The Shed, were both nominated for awards
Local musician Darren Schmidt (Ryza, Blues Excuse, Tucker & Chop) with Lily Heiner, Kingaroy … Lily was a nominee in the Youth Musician of the Year category
Compere Simon Neal with Carl Rackemann and Tony Cisneros
Norman and Beryl Cann, from Kingaroy … the couple are the parents of nominee Larry Cann
Kayla La Rue, Kerrie Watson and Craig Greene … Kayla and Craig are from Floorworld which provided the red carpet for the awards night
Tye Moore, Kingaroy, and Kalon Engel, Nanango, with Kingaroy State High School music teacher Matt Phillips
Deputy Mayor Gavin Jones with Maree Gaunt, from Nanango
Glenn Hatchett and Sonia McMahon, from Rufus Jack
Angelina and Brett Chaseling, from Wholehearted (and Musicians Oasis)
Sheena Lindholm (Push Pull Marketing) with Elaine and Ken Gould … Ken is the brother of Warren who organised the awards

* * *

Gallery Of Photos


3 Responses to "Tony Inducted Into Hall Of Fame"

  1. Thank you all again at South Burnett Online, for this memorable story and photos! It was an amazing night and such fun to see ALL the local musicians & venue managers rubbing shoulders and having great convos on a Thursday night. We all look forward to this Annual Local Event in 2024.

  2. Congratulations Tony and all the awards recipients. So great to see hard work and commitment recognised.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.