Sunday’s meeting marked the 11th anniversary of the Nanango RSL Margaret and Garry Banks Memorial Trophy – named in honour of RSL and race club stalwarts Garry and Margaret Banks … as usual, relatives Tracey and Bruce Jackson were on hand to present the race winners with a trophy and wine, assisted by Nanango Race Club president Andrew Green (left)

June 2, 2012

Crowd numbers were down at Sunday’s Nanango Race meeting but the quality of the day’s racing was particularly high.

Nanango Race Club had originally planned to hold the meeting on Saturday, May 21, but heavy rain beforehand  rendered the Lee Park course too dangerous for horses and jockeys, forcing the meeting’s postponement to last Sunday.

The race club has run a Sunday meeting in December for the past few years which has proven to be a winner with local racegoers as they prepare for Christmas and school holidays.

But sadly, the magic of a Sunday meeting in summer didn’t translate to a winter get-together and many Lee Park regulars were absent from the concourse.

However – due to a variety of factors – the meeting drew an enormous field of 170 nominations, which were whittled down to 80 starters on the day by Racing Queensland.

And much to the delight of punters, favourites won the majority of the day’s races.

The high point of the eight race meeting was a Battle Of The Bush qualifying race, with the winner securing a highly coveted spot in the $200,000 final of the series which will be run at Eagle Farm on June 25.

On Sunday, the Battle round was the seventh race on the card and it was contested by eight top-flight horses.

Favourite Moscini blitzed the field by more than seven lengths.

The six-year-old gelding’s performance under the stewardship of jockey Nathan Fazackerley drew a round of applause and cheers from the crowd after it passed the finishing post, and enthusiastic congratulations in the mounting yard from the horse’s trainer and owner.

Nanango Race Club’s next meeting will be held on Saturday, June 25.

This will be the club’s final meeting for the racing year, and the last chance for jockeys, horses and trainers to secure points in this year’s Lee Park premierships.

The premiership winners for 2021-22 will be announced at the club’s first meeting of the new racing year on Saturday, August 6.

Brett, Susan and (at rear) son Stuart Kirk were enjoying a day at the track with Susan’s sister Cr Kathy Duff and Cr Jane Erkens
Fashions entrants were thin on the ground on Sunday, but Darhnell Barbeler, left, won universal approval for her hand-crafted outfit, and was presented with a pack of Moffatdale Ridge wines by fashion judge Leisa Green
When Shania Willis won the day’s fifth race on Bungarribee Lad, she was congratulated by her sister Lakota Smythe and trainer Liam Birchley
Former councillor Barry Green cuddled up with his granddaughter Abigail, 5, between races
Strapper Des Groves, trainer Dale Groves, owner Mario Di Carlo and jockey Nathan Fazakerley celebrated after Moscini set a blistering pace to win the Battle Of The Bush qualifier … the group have now secured a place in the $200,000 series final which will be run at Eagle Farm on June 25

* * *

Leica Special (Isabella Rabjones) and Viceman (Paul Hamblin) were the first pair across the finish line in Race 2, well ahead of the rest of the field …
… but things tightened considerably in Race 3, with the scene at the winning post turning into a bit of a boil-over


Race 1 – Happy 70th Noel Fischer Maiden Plate (800m)
1. Hairy Lover (1) – Gary Geran
2. Jet Spinner (15e) – Stephanie Lacy
3. Rising Spirit (12) – Hannah Richardson
Time: 0:48.06
Margins: 1/2 neck x 1 length

Race 2 – Bechlys Transport BenchMark 55 Handicap (800m)
1. Leica Special (5) – Isabella Rabjones
2. Viceman (3) – Paul Hamblin
3. Curry Connection (11) – Ty Wheeler
Time: 0:47.88
Margins: 1 1/2 lengths x 3/4 length

Race 3 – Nanango RSL/Margaret & Garry Banks Memorial QTIS Class 3 Plate (1000m)
1. Coat Of Arms (2) – Gary Geran
2. Uncle Frank (7) – Nathan Fazackerley
3. Rippin’ Ready (12) – Nathan Evans
Time: 1:00.89
Margins: 3/4 length x 1/2 neck

Race 4 – McDonalds Kingaroy BenchMark 45 Handicap (1200m)
1. Moving Day (11) –  Hannah Richardson
2. Ourlastpenny (10) – Kelly Gates
3. Point The Wagon (8) – Shannon Apthorpe
Time: 1:13.95
Margins: 3/4 length x 1/2 length

Race 5 –  Leisa’s Fitness – Nanango BM45 Handicap (1200m)
1. Bungarribee Lad (4) – Shania Willis
2. Rural Rebel (11) – Brendon Newport
3. Badge Of Gameness (3) – Sariah Champkin
Time: 1:13.13
Margins: 3 1/2 lengths x 1 1/2 lengths

Race 6 – Livingstone Livestock Cartage BenchMark 60 Handicap (1200m)
1. Whistle Hoff (14e) – Stephanie Lacy
2. We All Agree (10) – Nathan Fazackerley
3. Sertin (11) – Luke Miller
Time: 1:13.06
Margins: Nose x 3 1/2 lengths

Race 7 – Battle Of The Bush Nanango Qualifier Open Handicap (1200m)
1. Moscini (3) – Nathan Fazackerley
2. Kappy Cino (5) – Nathan Evans
3. See For Yourself (12) – Stephanie Lacy
Time: 1:11.86
Margins: 7 1/4 lengths x 1 3/4 lengths

Race 8 – Heritage Bank Nanango BenchMark 60 Handicap (1600m)
1. Salazar (4) – Isabella Rabjones
2. Gratsie (7) – Nathan Evans
3. Hold All Tickets (13e) – Brandon Newport
Time: 1:38.32
Margins: 1/2 length x 2 lengths

In Race 4, Moving Day (Hannah Richardson) narrowly outpaced Ourlastpenny (Kelly Gates) by three-quarters of a length to claim the first prize …
…but in the day’s biggest race – the Battle Of The Bush (Race 7) – daylight came second when Moscini passed the post a full seven and a quarter lengths ahead of its next nearest rival in a top quality field

[UPDATED with correction]

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.