2015 South Burnett Citizen Of The Year nominees Alan and Pat Eagleson

Michelle Smith, from Wondai

Nina Temperton, from South Burnett CTC
Rural financial counsellor Alan Broome
Tina Torrens, from Kingaroy
Nanango historian Elizabeth Caffery
Wondai postie Jeff Wenck

January 26, 2015

The South Burnett Citizen Of The Year Australia Day Award recognises an individual who has made a noteworthy contribution to the region during the current year and given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years.

In 2015, the nominees were:

  • Jeffrey Wenck (aka Jeff the Postie)
    • Nominated by a grateful customer who refers to Jeff as the friendliest bloke in Wondai. A one-man welcoming committee offering newcomers to Wondai warm and courteous welcomes.
  • Dr M. Gangaram
    • Caring and patient doctor whom makes himself available 24/7
    • Works across Wondai, Proston, Murgon and Goomeri surgeries
    • Adored by his patients
  • Desley Collins
    • Nominated by a grateful neighbour who describes Desley as a wonderful volunteer, compassionate and caring wife and a neighbour who brings joy to others with her homemade cookies
  • Rowena Dionysius
    • Relay for Life committee president
    • Achieved a Top 10 fundraising team in Queensland
    • Raised more than $100,000 and has had more than 40 teams involved in Relay For Life
    • Inspired and united many within the South Burnett community
    • Offers her time to speak at many community events
  • Michelle Smith
    • Treasurer for the Wondai Meals on Wheels for more than 20 years
    • President of The Laurels aged care accommodation facility in Wondai
    • Treasurer of the Wondai Art Gallery
    • Former Treasurer of the Wondai Show Society
  • Alan Broome
    • Rural financial counsellor
    • Integral member of the South Burnett Australian Stockhorse Association
    • Chairman of the Nanango Campdraft
    • Member of the Rural and Remote Service Providers Drought Group
    • Advised on the distribution of South Burnett Red Earth Flood Appeal funds
  • Wendy Zerbst
    • Instrumental in setting up Heritage Nanango Community Fund
    • Chairman of Heritage Nanango Community Fund
    • Instrumental in multiple significant projects throughout Nanango
  • Nina Temperton
    • CEO of South Burnett CTC for more than 22 years
    • Member of the Kingaroy Chamber of Commerce and Industry Executive
    • Active member of the Ringsfield House committee
    • Ensures positive outcome for hundreds of disadvantaged or marginalised citizens across the South Burnett
  • Joan Adams
    • Murgon Show Society vice-president
    • Tableland Hall President
    • Successful in numerous funding applications to upgrade the Tableland Hall
    • Organises the Tableland Market
    • Organises the Farmers Dinners at Tableland Hall
  • Pat & Alan Eagleson
    • Sourced and provided assistance for farming families in the most severely drought affected parts of the South Burnett
    • Assisted farmers in retaining some breeding stock to help re-establish herds
    • Assisted families to remain on their farms so they were not lost to the community
  • Elizabeth Caffery
    • Fifth-generation dairy farmer
    • Highlights the South Burnett’s history through her books
    • Spent the past four years recording and presenting historical photos of the South Burnett in photo books
    • Prepared photo book tracing the history of Murgon and the Tiernan family for the South Burnett delegation for Dodewaard
  • Tina Torrens
    • Strong member and sponsorship co-ordinator of the Kingaroy Christmas Carnival Committee
    • President of the Taabinga State School P&C
    • Assists the South Burnett Autism Support Group with their annual trivia night
    • Participant in the Red Earth Community Leadership Program

Winner: Joan Adams

Joan has lived in the area and been involved in the community for 24 years. Even through losing her husband, Joan still manages to run a cattle property and work tirelessly to help other farmers.

In addition to Joan’s work assisting local farmers, she is also the vice-president of the Murgon Show Society, president of the Tableland Hall and the organiser of the Tableland Mmarkets.

Joan has been described as is an inspiration to our farming communities because in spite of the struggles that she has faced and continues to face, she finds the time to help and support other farming families.

Related articles:

Downer Position Vacant - click here
Downer Position Vacant - click here