Toowoomba Regional Council is developing a model which will split the region into three zones … with specific councillors assigned to each

June 18, 2024

Toowoomba Regional Council plans to adopt a zonal model, linking individual councillors to specific regions.

At Tuesday’s general meeting, councillors agreed to hold a workshop to explore the new model which aims to improve representation.

The three zones will be:

  • North: Cooyar, Crows Nest, Geham, Goombungee, Haden, Hampton, Pinelands, Ravensbourne, Yarraman, Acland, Biddeston, Bowenville, Jondaryan, Oakey, Mount Tyson, Kulpi, Maclagan, Quinalow, Peranga.
  • Emerging: Cabarlah, Cambooya, Charlton, Gowrie Junction, Highfields, Hodgson Vale, Kingsthorpe, Kleinton, Meringandan, Meringandan West, Wellcamp, Westbrook, Wyreema.
  • South: Brookstead, Cecil Plains, Kooroongarra, Millmerran,  Millmerran Downs, Millmerran Woods, Cypress Gardens, The Pines, Wattle Ridge, Forest Ridge, Condamine Farms, Pampas, Back Plains, Clifton, Greenmount, East Greenmount, Felton, Nobby, Pilton, Pittsworth, Ramsay, Southbrook.

Mayor Cr Geoff McDonald said the beginning of a new Council term was the right time to review how Councillors engaged with the region’s diverse population.

“We need to continue to value and understand the uniqueness of our townships and villages throughout the region,” Mayor McDonald said.

“There are now 11 councillors covering the same footprint that was served by 68 councillors’ pre-amalgamation. Developing a model that ensures everyone feels represented is always going to be challenging.

“Today is the first step in finding a model that will ensure better engagement and access between the community and councillors.”

The next step would be a workshop for councillors to fine-tune the terms of reference for the process.

Under the new model, councillors will continue to engage across the whole region, however, they will also be assigned additional areas of interest where they would act as a conduit for residents into Council.

“It is expected that they will visit schools, attend various events and utilise space in Council’s service centres to hot desk and meet community members in their zone,” Mayor McDonald said.

“This new model is aimed at reinvigorating community-led conversations which will lead to more inclusive decision-making.”

The new model is expected to begin on September 1 after the workshop.

Footnote: The TRC is an “undivided” council, which means councillors are elected by the whole region, rather than by residents in a Division (the system which is in place in the South Burnett and Gympie councils). 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.