Benarkin State School volunteers were busy raising funds for their P&C … from left, Rachel Bottcher, Evey Proctor, 11; Emmily Bottcher, 11; and Mel Proctor

May 21, 2024

Blackbutt Show celebrated its 90th anniversary on Saturday … and the second year since it was resurrected after a four-year break.

Torrential rain and the pandemic wiped out the show in 2019-22 but the weather couldn’t have been better this weekend!

Show Society president Trevor Holt was at the helm again for the 2024 outing and said that despite some small “teething problems” it had been a really good show.

The FMX motorbikes had been very popular with the crowd and the children were fascinated by the “Dinkum Dinosaurs” shows.

“We have received a lot of positive feedback,” Trevor said.

“We try to change the entertainment up every year.”

He said the woodchopping had been very popular – as usual – with some very big names competing.

Crowds stayed on Saturday night for the fireworks and then live music in the bar area.

“It was even a better crowd than last year,” Trevor said.

The Blackbutt Show is a real community effort, with the Blackbutt Benarkin Lions and AvoFest manning the gates and the parking area.

Benarkin State School P&C volunteers were also kept busy at their stall, which included temporary tattoos for the kids.

Numbers in the cattle competitions were down, due to Beef 2024 at Rockhampton, but there was still good quality in the ring.

Trevor said activity in the pavilion was better this year with a lot more entries submitted.

Something new this year was the car show which was co-ordinated by the Blackbutt Car Enthusiasts Club but attracted entries from other clubs, especially the Cars & Coffee Car Club at Crows Nest.

Trevor said the Dog Show was just as big as ever, with about 350 entries.

The show was officially opened on Saturday afternoon by South Burnett Mayor Kathy Duff, who recalled bringing her pony, “Gay Lady”, to the Blackbutt Show about 50 years ago.

She congratulated Trevor and his committee for putting on an amazing show.

“It’s just a beautiful day, everything’s perfect and it couldn’t be better,” Mayor Duff said.

Special presentations were made at the opening of Show Patron badges to long-time Show Society volunteers Erica Wingfield, who worked as a steward in the pavilion; and cattle judge Margaret Wilson.

Mayor Kathy Duff with Show Society president Trevor Holt … Mayor Duff officially opened the show
Newly badged Show Patrons Erica Wingfield and Margaret Wilson with Cr Linda Little and Show Society secretary Cathy Gilliland at the official opening
Supreme Champion of the Show was ‘Jen-Daview Iceman’ and Angus bull shown by Jen-Daview Livestock … he’s pictured with 2023 Esk Showgirl Danika Brooks, from Linville, who was presenting the ribbons at the Blackbutt Show, and Mikaela Ross (Photo: Jenny Evans)
Reserve Champion Led Steer ‘Milton’ with Anthony O’Dwyer; Champion Led Steer ‘Benny’ with Matthew O’Dwyer; judge Mitch Franz, chief steward Glen Argent and Midge Thompson
Holly Green, on ‘Pepper’, competing in the 17 & Over flag race
Nev Williams, from Yarraman, brought along his 1968 Corvette Stingray
Mike Webber, from Blackbutt, competes at the Kingaroy Speedway in the National 4s with his Nissan Bluebird
Ken Murchison, from the Cars & Coffee Car Club Club at Crows Nest, had his 1972 AMC Javelin, running a 401 CID motor and one of only 48 assembled by AMI in Australia
Rural Fire Brigade members Matthew Anderson (East Nanango), Vanessa Bywaters (Sandy Ridges), Michael Dunn (Taromeo), Susan Thompson (Sandy Ridges) and Russell French (Taromeo)
Timber is a key industry in Blackbutt … Adam Smith, Blackbutt; John Wright, Blackbutt; Randall Norris, Imbil; and Malcolm Macdonald, Pechey; all from HQ Plantations

* * *

Action From Woodchopping Arena

Blackbutt is known for producing world champion axemen … and its annual show always attracts some of best competitors from across Australia (including many world champions).

Brayden Meyer took out the standing block hard-hitting championship, demolishing his block with 17 blows in 31.37 seconds
Josh Adamson came in second, also with 17 blows but in 59.81 seconds
The winners podium of the hard-hitting championship … Josh Adamson (2nd), Brayden Meyer (1st), Jake Dingle (3rd) and Mitch Argent (4th)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.