Frank Honey with his Christmas Cottage certificate and the new perpetual shield

December 20, 2023

A huge winter wonderland in Nanango has taken out the inaugural Christmas Cottage award for individual Christmas lights displays in the South Burnett.

The walk-in display, at 45 South Street, is the work of Frank Honey who began assembling the festive fantasyland at the end of June.

The Christmas Cottage award is an initiative of South Burnett Regional Council CEO Mark Pitt and his wife Nicola.

The pair launched the Santa Claus Lane award (for co-operative street displays between neighbours) five years ago, and introduced the Santa’s Workshop award (for businesses) three years ago.

Mark and Nicola presented a certificate to Frank on Wednesday morning at Nanango Library.

His name has also be added to a new perpetual trophy which will be hung each year in the nearest library to the award winner.

Mark said Frank’s display was terrific and was the “pride of Nanango”.

Frank has been erecting Christmas lights in his front garden for 13 years, and in 2015 was the inaugural winner of the then-Hancock Prospecting-sponsored South Burnett competition.

However, he said he did not do it for the prizes or the recognition, but to see the looks on people’s faces.

Frank works on his display on weekends and every night after he comes home from work; he tries hard to make it different every year.

He estimates he has spent “tens of thousands” of dollars over the years, adding new items every Christmas.

Between 3000 and 4000 people usually “pop in through the arches” every year and meander along the pathway.

There is no entry fee, but people are invited to make a donation to LifeFlight. Frank said he usually raises between $3000 and $4000.

Related articles:

Frank with competition organisers Nicola and Mark Pitt, and Acting South Burnett Mayor Gavin Jones
Cr Jane Erkens, Frank Honey and Acting Mayor Gavin Jones … the perpetual plaque has been erected on the wall at Nanango Library

Ros Heit for South Burnett Division 6
Vote 1 Kathy Duff for South Burnett Mayor


Vote 1 Jane Erkens for Division 1
Vote 1 Scott Hernschen for Division 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.