Deb Frecklington

October 22, 2021

Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington has welcomed the establishment of a taskforce by the Federal Government to examine regional bank closures.

The taskforce was announced on Friday morning by Minister for Regionalisation Senator Bridget McKenzie.

It will bring together banks and other key stakeholders to assess how bank branch closures have affected local businesses, industries and communities and work collaboratively to identify possible solutions.

The taskforce will be co-chaired by Assistant Treasurer Michael Sukkar and Senator Perin Davey.

Members will include senior representatives from:

  • Banks – ANZ; Commonwealth Bank of Australia; National Australia Bank; Westpac; Bendigo and Adelaide Bank; and the Bank of Queensland
  • Peak bodies – Australian Banking Association, Customer Owned Banking Association; Council of Small Business Organisations Australia; and the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Australia Post; and
  • Australian Local Government Association.

The Taskforce will hold its first meeting in early November and will release an issues paper for public consultation.

“This is an issue which is seriously affecting our community, with many branch closures across our region over the past few years, the most recent announcement being ANZ in Kingaroy,” Mrs Frecklington said.

“I would encourage anyone affected by bank branch closures to have their say when the taskforce opens up for public consultation.”

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Position Vacant - click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.