South Burnett CTC CEO Nina Temperton, John Quatermass Award winner Ben Nicholson (Youth & Family Services) and Youth & Community Services manager Kirsten Firman
June 11, 2020

Every year South Burnett CTC holds a special “CTC Day” to thank employees of the not-for-profit association for another big year, have fun and hand out awards.

This year’s CTC Day wasn’t possible because of COVID-19 restrictions, so instead CEO Nina Temperton travelled to the various CTC work sites in Kingaroy, Wondai and Murgon on Thursday to distribute awards.

And instead of gathering for the traditional big group photo, CTC employees were asked to take selfies showing where they were and what they were doing on Thursday so a collage can be assembled.

Nina said CTC Day was not quite in the format originally anticipated, but it was still a special day to celebrate the hard work of the past 12 months and celebrate the achievements of individuals.

The Team awards are individuals nominated by their peers as worthy of special recognition.

Nina said the selection criteria included excellent team work, supporting their colleagues and “doing that little bit extra for the community”.

“As always there were many nominations, reflecting the quality and commitment of so many colleagues,” she said.

“The voting was often close but invariably the winner was clear.”

Two special awards were also handed out.

The Howard Leisemann STAR Award – “Service, Teamwork, Attitude and Reliability” – is named in honour of former CTC chairman Howard Leisemann who led the organisation for more than 25 years and continues to serve as treasurer.

The STAR Award recognises someone who has consistently demonstrated the STAR qualities over a long period.

“The award is not automatically given every year, but this year’s winner certainly deserves the honour,” Nina said.

“Brenda Brown has worked in the Partners In Foster Care team in a number of roles … as a support worker, team leader and lately as Acting Manager during the upheaval of COVID.

“She has earned the respect of her own and the management team, the foster carers and the Department of Child Safety staff through her calm, considered approach (while pedalling furiously under the table!).”

The second special award, the John Quatermass Award, is named in honour of the late “JQ”, a founding member of CTC and former chairman and patron.

“It has only been awarded a few times over the years and is meant to recognise deeds or achievements that are not necessarily performed as part of a work role but make us all proud,” Nina said.

“Despite his youth, and with only a couple of years of experience as a youth worker, Ben Nicholson has demonstrated outstanding initiative and persistence to achieve good outcomes for young people and create more positive perceptions of them in the wider community.

“He has also acted quite heroically and very effectively during a fire at a different organisation, without there being any obligation on him.

“His preparedness to put his own life on hold to keep others safe is commendable.”

* * *

Special Awards

  • Howard Leisemann STAR Award – Brenda Brown (Partners In Foster Care)
  • John Quatermass Discretionary Award – Ben Nicholson (Youth & Family Services Kingaroy)

* * *

Team Awards

  • Gumnut Place – Liz Geppert
  • Partners In Foster Care – Debra Richardson
  • Youth & Family Services Kingaroy – Jacqui Grosskopf
  • Connections Youth & Family Services – Clinton Missi
  • Disability Services – Emma Zoldak
  • Residential Services – Sarah Herbohn
  • HQ – Jack McDowell

* * *

Service Awards

  • 20 Years – Esther Ross, Kirsten Firman
  • 10 Years – Jane Badior, Sarah Herbohn
  • 5 Years – Luella Watson, Edward Eagles, Hayden Mashford, Harry Sterling, Ian Munday, Bill Davison, Julie Blundell, Lee-Anne Reinbott, Gemma Sanford, Courtney Varidel, Andrew Wesener

[Photos by and South Burnett CTC]

Brenda Brown, from Partners in Foster Care, was presented with the 2020 Howard Leisemann STAR Award … “STAR” stands for “Service, Teamwork, Attitude and Reliability” and is given to an employee who has demonstrated these qualities over a long period
South Burnett CTC CEO Nina Temperton presented Jacqui Grosskopf with the Youth & Family Services Kingaroy Team award
Sarah Herbohn received the Residential Services Team award
Debra Richardson received the Partners In Foster Care Team award
Emma Zoldak received the Disability Services Team Award
Jack McDowell received the HQ Team award
Clinton Missi received the Connections Youth & Family Services Team award
Lizz Geppert, left, received the Gumnut Place Team award, while Andrew Wesener, right, received a Five Years of Service Award for working at Gumnut
Luella Watson (Youth & Family Services) received a Five Years of Service award
Five Years of Service awardees in Kingaroy … from left, Harry Sterling, Gemma Sanford, Julie Blundell, Lee-Anne Reinbott (all Youth & Family Services) and Hayden Mashford (Residential Services)
Sarah Herbohn (10 years) and Kirsten Firman (20 years) also received Service awards

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.