Aidan Raymont won the final in the Modifieds … drivers used the December meeting as a warm-up for January’s Kings Royal weekend

December 23, 2018

The countdown has begun for the huge three nights of speedway racing in Kingaroy known as the Kings Royal.

Kings Royal VII for Modified Sedans will be raced across January 25-27 (Friday to Sunday of the Australia Day weekend).

The Modifieds will be accompanied on the program by Production Sedans, Street Stocks and Junior Sedans:

  • Friday – Modified Sedans, Production Sedans, Street Stocks
  • Saturday – Modified Sedans, Junior Sedans
  • Sunday – Modified Sedans, Queens Royal (and fireworks)

The Queens Royal, which celebrates the big contribution women have made to the sport of speedway, is for female drivers only and is open to Street Stocks and Production Sedans.

Nominations are now open for women wanting to take part.

The Queens Royal debuted last year during the Kings Royal weekend and was a big success.

* * *

A grader had to rework the speedway track surface after rain during the December meeting

Rain interrupted the December Speedway meeting held in Kingaroy, with the grader having to be brought out after early showers.

The racing was delayed but the rain actually made the track very quick with three lap records being broken on the night:

  • Lightning Sprints – Kurt Wilson (12.879 seconds)
  • Super Sedans – Darren Kane (13.447 seconds)
  • Wingless Sprints – David Eggins (14.801 seconds)

Lockyer Valley driver Jason Rae took the Queensland Title in the Lightning Sprints after just three years racing in the category.

Rae had some luck in the 25-lap final.

Kurt Wilson, who earlier set a lap record in the category, was forced out with mechanical failure in lap 16.

It was back-to-back wins for Rae at Kingaroy, after he took out the A-Main on September 22.

In the Modifieds, Cooroy driver Aidan Raymont again demonstrated why he’s Queensland champion, relegating reigning Kings Royal “King” Greg Worling to third spot in the final.

Lockyer Valley driver Jason Rae had some luck in the final to take away the Queensland Title in the Lightning Sprints

* * *


Super Sedans – Brims Concrete Qld Series

1. Darren Kane
2. Mat Pascoe
3. Wayne Randall

Lightning Sprints – Stockmans Civil & Plant Queensland Title

1. Jason Rae
2. Sean Iacono
3. Tyler Stralow

Modified Sedans – Prelude to the Royal

1. Aidan Raymont
2. Dennis Shallcross
3. Greg Worling

Wingless Sprints – IBRP Super Series

1. David Eggins
2. Cody O’Connell
3. Josh Dreaver

Darren Kane won the A-Main in the Super Sedans and also set a new lap record on the night
Kurt Wilson set the fastest lap time on the night in the Lightning Sprints and was leading in the final when he was forced out with mechanical trouble

* * *

Tarong Community Partnership Fund - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.