What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Miles Of Smiles At Burrandowan

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News, Media Gallery, Racing, Sport
Burrandowan Picnic Races

Noosaville librarian Samantha Harding and daughter Jane cut stylish figures trackside at this year's 92nd annual Burrandowan Picnic Races

May 13, 2014

Burrandowan’s traditional picnic races proved to be a day for the ladies, with the $4000 Fashions of the Field competition turning heads and female jockeys keeping punters happy on the track.

South Burnett apprentice Hannah Phillips stole the show, bringing home two winners as well as a stylish silver bracelet for being the most successful rider on the day.

Phillips effectively doubled her career record with the two victories, adding to her wins at Nanango on April 14 and Chinchilla on April 26.

Top apprentice Billie-Rose Derbyshire also found success, bringing home Astralin in Race 3.

Experienced hoop Melody O’Brien was also smiling after riding two seconds and a third in Races 3, 4 and 5.

A happy crowd packed the track to cheer all the winners home.

Busloads of visitors from Brisbane, the Sunshine Coast and the South Burnett joined hundreds of drivers on the 60km trek from Kingaroy to the bush racetrack.

Some campers came a day or two earlier to make a full weekend of it.

As usual, the action got under way shortly after 9:00am with clay target shooting.

But the bulk of the day’s crowd started to come through the gates towards mid-morning and by the time the first race left the barriers at 1:00pm, the atmosphere was electric.

As always, tradition was at the forefront of most people’s minds at Burrandowan.

This year’s event marked 92 years since the first meeting was held on May 13, 1922, and many memories and stories were shared throughout the day.

Former Kingaroy mayor Bob Downes, who died in February, was fondly recalled for his services to the Burrandowan Race Club.

Bob was starter at the track for many years as well as the club’s vice-president.

A special presentation was  also made to outgoing committee member Ted Fisher who has served the Burrandowan Race Club for an amazing  60 years and was only retiring (he said) because his body was telling him it needed “a bit of a rest”.

Cr Kathy Duff, who presented the hand-made silver bracelet Hannah Phillips, told the crowd that Burrandowan held a special place in her own family’s history too.

“My grandfather met my grandmother at the very first Burrandowan Picnic Races and they were married four years later,” she said.

“This race meeting means a lot to us and to many other people.

“So these days I present a silver bracelet to the top jockey each year – and this year I’m really delighted that it’s going to a girl!”

The RACQ CareFlight Helicopter Rescue Service was also delighted with the day.

Each year the race club donates a portion of the proceeds of the meeting to a charitable cause, and this year they have selected CareFlight.

Footnote: Photos from this year’s Burrandowan Picnic Races can be purchased from Denise Keelan Photography 

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Nanango's 2014 Rural Ambassador Sheena Uebergang, Nanango Race Club president John Lee and Cr Kathy Duff caught up between races

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Angela Miles, from the RACQ Careflight Rescue Helicopter Service, with Cr Damien Tessmann

Burrandowan Picnic Races

AgForce president Ian Burnett shares a joke with Race Club secretary Carolyn Stone

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Trackside fashion Burrandowan style: Isaiah Woods, Kingaroy, and Kynan Kelleher, Proston

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Eloise Mashford, from the Kingaroy State High School Stage Band, launched each race with a traditional trumpet fanfare to the delight of the race-day crowd

Burrandowan Picnic Races

May the (Ag)Force be with you ... AgForce were one of the meeting's major sponsors and they sent a big contingent to the track

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Burrandowan Race Club committee members farewelled Ted Fisher, centre, in a special ceremony to thank him for 60 years of service to the iconic racing event; front row, from left, Ken Stone, Tom Hoare, Peg Downs and Joan Northcott

Ladies Classic Fashions Of The Field

Burrandowan Picnic Races

ABC announcer Craig Zonca presents Julie Clifford from Brisbane as the winner of the Best Dressed Classic Lady in the Fashions Of The Field competition

Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races
Burrandowan Picnic Races
Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races

* * *

Couple’s and Men’s Fashions Of The Field

Burrandowan Picnic Races

The Fashions Of The Field competition also featured sections for Couples, Best Dressed Contemporary Lady and Best Dressed Contemporary Gentlemen ... and some of this year's highlights appear below

Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races
Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races
Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races
Burrandowan Picnic Races Burrandowan Picnic Races

* * *

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Riders hit the home turn in Race 3, the Bob Downes Memorial / Patrons Cup QTIS Maiden Plate (Photo: Denise Keelan)

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Cr Kathy Duff presented a silver bracelet to the day's top jockey Hannah Phillips


Race 1 – Clovely Estate / Ken Mills Toyota / AGL Class B Handicap (1000m)
1. More Of The Zaim (2) – Shannon Apthorpe
2. Mi Idea (7) – Melissa Cox
3. Red Mint (9) – Ian Coombes
Time: 1:00.90
Margins: 1 1/2 lengths x 1 3/4 lengths

Race 2 – South Burnett Times / BGA Agri Services Benchmark 65 Handicap (1000m)
1. Honour Jacko (2) – Chris Kearney
2. Baited Breath (1) – Melissa Cox
3. Desert Playboy (8) – Ian Coombes
Time: 1:00.77
Margins: 1/2 length x neck

Race 3 – Bob Downes Memorial / Patrons Cup QTIS Maiden Plate (1200m)
1. Astralin (5) – Billy-Rose Derbyshire
2. Making Waves (1) – Melody O’Brien
3. Sammy Safecracker (2) – Jason Missen
Time: 1:10.60
Margins: Short neck x 1 3/4 lengths

Race 4 – AgForce / Queensland Country Life Open Handicap (1200m)
1. Tornadoes (1) – Hannah Phillips
2. Richmond Grove (2) – Melody O’Brien
3. Seaza (5) – Shannon Apthorpe
Time: 1:09.60
Margins: 1/2 length x 3 1/2 lengths

Race 5 – CROW FM 90.7 / South Burnett Mayor’s Benefit Fund / Country Bookmakers Benchmark 60 Handicap (1600m)
1. Glenthorn Avenue (3) – Hannah Phillips
2. Le Max (2) – Chris Kearney
3. Cross The Star (1) – Melody O’Brien
Time: 1:47:23
Margins: Short half-head x 4 lengths

Honour Jacko (Chris Kearney) comes home ahead of Baited Breath (Melissa Cox) in Race 2
(Photo: Denise Keelan)

Burrandowan Picnic Races

Le Max (Chris Kearney) and eventual winner Glenthorn Avenue (Hannah Phillips) go head-for-head down the straight in Race 5 (Photo: Denise Keelan)

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

One Response to Miles Of Smiles At Burrandowan

  1. Carolyn Stone

    Thanks once again to everyone who made Burrandowan Race day so successful. Great story and photos. Wonderful to see so many race club committee members, past and present,for the presentation to Ted Fisher for an amazing and totally dedicated 60 years of service as Honorary Vet for the race club. See you all next year – 9th May 2015!