Member for Nananago Deb Frecklington - click here
What's On In The South Burnett Today?

De-Amalgamation Meeting Tonight

Filed under Breaking News, Council, Latest News

August 14, 2012

A meeting to discuss the possible de-amalgamation of the massive Toowoomba Regional Council super shire will be held from 7:30pm tonight at the Crows Nest Community Centre.

The group sponsoring the public meeting, the Crows Nest and District Tourist and Progress Association, is proposing that the former shires of Rosalie (which includes the towns of Yarraman and Cooyar) and Crows Nest break away from Toowoomba to form a new amalgamated shire of their own.

This amalgamated shire was within months of formation in 2007 when the State Government suddenly stopped the process and tossed Crows Nest and Rosalie into an amalgamated Toowoomba Regional Council which also absorbed Jondaryan, Cambooya, Millmerran, Pittsworth and Clifton shires. The new shire covers approximately 13,000sq km.

Meanwhile, a newspaper circulating in the Toowoomba Regional Council area has called for a “ward” system to be introduced to allow better representation for ratepayers.

Unlike the South Burnett Regional Council, which is divided into six divisions, Toowoomba Regional Council is undivided which means the 10 councillors and Mayor are equally responsible for the whole region.

The “High Country News” has suggested that the shire be divided into four wards:

  • Ward 1 – most of the previous Rosalie and Crows Nest shires;
  • Ward 2 – the southern end of Rosalie Shire and most of the former Jondaryan Shire;
  • Ward 3 – most of Millmerran and Pittsworth Shires and the south-eastern section of Jondaryan Shire; and
  • Ward 4 – Clifton and Cambooya shires

• Related article: Push To Form New Council Gains Momentum

Huskys Burgers Kingaroy - click hereAndersson for Mayor