Assistant District Commissioner (Bunya District) Jenny Behm with an original photo of founder McIntosh Murray
The first Kingaroy Scout is believed to have been Stewart Redman (Photo: Supplied)

June 20, 2024

Kingaroy Scouts are gearing up for a big Centenary celebration this weekend!

On Saturday morning, the troop will be hosting events at their Scout Den in James Street, followed by a special Centenary Dinner at night in Kingaroy Town Hall.

A special guest at the activities will be the Chief Commissioner of Scouts Queensland, Geoff Doo.

Assistant District Commissioner (Bunya District) Jenny Behm said the Kingaroy Scout group could trace its history back to June 11, 1924, when a public meeting was held to form a troop.

This meeting was called by a local Presbyterian minister, the Reverend John Robert M’Intosh Murray, known to everyone simply as McIntosh Murray.

Jenny said there were initially 13 members, with the first official scout recorded as being Stewart Redman.

Former scouts and their family members, as well as interested community members have been invited to join in the Centenary celebrations.

Saturday’s activities will get under way at 9:30am at the Scout Den, with the official opening parade at 10:00am.

There will be then a presentation of 10 prestigious Peak Awards to five Joeys and five Cubs.

At 11:00am, the new Bunya District Scout Fellowship Museum will be opened, along with the Kingaroy Scouts’ new commercial kitchen.

The dinner, from 5:30pm, will be an opportunity for former scouts to reminisce about their days in the movement.

There will also be guest speakers, a roll call, a history presentation and live music by Amber Goldsmith.

The evening will be compered by Damien Martoo and Chris Behm.

Tickets for the Centenary Dinner can be booked online

Kingaroy Scouts currently has 50 members: 11 Joeys (age 5-8), 17 Cubs (age 8-11), 12 Scouts (age 11-14), three Venturers (age 14-18), two Rovers (age 18-25) and five Leaders.

Assistant District Commissioner Jenny Behm with Eva Timber-Hart, Frances Keddie, Casey Jones, Erich Bochmann and Joseph Bochmann (at front)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.