“Lady Of The Day” Fashions of the Field winner Verelle O’Shanesy … milliner Verelle is a familiar sight at South Burnett racetracks and sums up what Burrandowan is all about … country style and sophistication

May 15, 2024

The Burrandowan Picnic Races always attracts herds of thoroughbreds – both on and off the racetrack – to its annual outing.

A few drops early on Saturday may have had some patrons worried that more rain was on the way, but heavier showers held off until after the running of Race 5, the Burrandowan Cup.

This year’s cup was run in memory of race club patron Tom Hoare, who died earlier this year, and many of his relatives turned up for the occasion.

Another special guest at the races was retired former Sydney jockey Malcolm Johnston, who was last at Burrandowan in 2022 (the year the races were washed out after Race 1).

Johnston is best known for his many victories on Kingston Town – especially the 1980 Cox Plate at Moonee Valley – and was runner-up on the champion gelding in the 1982 Melbourne Cup.

The Fashions of the Field competitions (see below) were as popular as ever, with both local residents and visitors glamming up for the occasion.

There were so many entrants there were several heats held in most of the categories.

South Burnett Mayor Kathy Duff was one of the finalists in the Best Dressed Classic Lady competition but just missed out, as did her part-owned horse Hard Landing which came in third spot in Race 4.

These disappointments aside, Burrandowan is always a big day for Mayor Duff, whose grandparents met at the first running of Burrandowan in 1922.

John Patrick Duff’s horse “Thunderclap” won the Ladies Bracelet that year and Mayor Duff now presents a silver bracelet every year to the winning jockey of the Burrandowan Cup.

Many patrons stayed at the track after the races to enjoy the pit-fire barbecues as well as live music on the homestead verandah from Mr Q.

Retired champion jockey Malcolm Johnston was a special guest at the Burrandowan Picnic Races … cricketing great Carl Rackemann towers over Johnston and former jockey Chris Kearney, who trained Race 1 runner Firebird Two
Burrandowan Race Club life members Al Redman and Graham Knight

Andrew Barrett and Tanika Walker, both from Nanango, were enjoying a race day snack

Cup-winning jockey Jade Metcalf was presented with a silver bracelet by Mayor Kathy Duff
After all, it’s a picnic race meeting … Nicole Ahern, from Nobby, with Hayley Caldwell, Cambooya
Jen and Julie Lonsdale-Light, from Kingaroy, with friends on the terraced seats
Steve and Karen Wills, from Jimboomba; Sandy Markey, Shailer Park; Rouden Sheridan, Toowoomba; Kylie Floyd, Wynnum; and Dave Green, Eight Mile Plains

Lachy Stuart and Nick Burford, from the Sunshine Coast, were enjoying a quiet beer

Pat and Alan Eagleson had their Mon-Dee Coffee 2 Go van at Burrandowan
Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington and husband Jason were enjoying a day at the races
Tony McCormack, Wondai; Cameron Rutherford, Inverell; Sam Reddin, Durong; Isaac Anderson, North Star; and Mitch McGrath, Westbrook
Briony, Doug, Roger and Zoe Hoare, from Kingaroy … the Burrandowan Cup was run in memory of Roger’s father
Members of the Hoare family with Burrandowan Cup winner Barclay’s Bank, jockey Jade Metcalf, owner John Schrader and owner/trainer Geoffrey Schrader … the Cup was run in memory of Race Club patron Tom Hoare who died earlier this year
The undercover betting area was as crowded as ever at the 2024 Burrandowan race meeting

* * *

Fashions Of The Field

The very popular Fashions of the Field competitions attracted a record number of entrants, forcing the judges to narrow down the fields to the top five finalists to fit in the competitions between Race 3 and Race 4.

And they only just made it … (see the winners, below).

The Millinery prize and “Lady of the Day” categories were judges’ choice for entries in the earlier Contemporary Lady, Classic Lady and Best Dressed Couple categories.

The Best Dressed Gentlemen and Best Dressed Classic Lady will now go on to represent the South Burnett as part of the Fashions from Afar event at the Tattersall’s Tiara Day at Eagle Farm in Brisbane on June 29.

Best Dressed Gentleman runner-up John Chamely and winner Peter Phelan with Fashions of the Field judge Dale Olsson, centre, from Dalby
Best Dressed Couple … Bernie Mariani and Matthew Neave
Contemporary Lady winner Kyla Green and runner-up Caylen Tunstall with judge Dale Olsson, left

Classic Lady winner Felicity Reinke, from Wondai, and runner-up Ari Phelan

Best Millinery winner Isabella Zarkow with runner-up Barbara Thompson
Junior Fashions of the Field entrants line up for the judges
The Fashions of the Field judges had a tough job separating the winners from the big fields of entries

* * *

Racing Results

Owner  John Schrader and owner/trainer Geoffrey Schrader with Burrandowan Cup winner Barclay’s Bank

Race 1 – RES / Graham Wilson Memorial Class B Handicap (1050m)
1. Sequacious (10) – Brooke Johnson
2. Seeyou Later (9) – Todd Banks
3. Arabian Fox (3) – Maddie Mankelow
Time: 1:04.00
Margins: Head x 1 1/2 lengths

Race 2 – Combined Business Houses of Kingaroy & South Burnett QTIS Maiden Plate (1175m)
1. Scottish Farmer (4) – Rob Thorburn
2. Shotgun Sixtyfour (9) – Landan Sykes
3. Vitthal (6) – Alisha Donald
Time: 1:14.00
Margins: Nose x 1 length

Race 3 – Kewpie Stockfeeds Burnett To The Beach Series – Final – Benchmark 60 Handicap (1175m)
1. Masterplan (1) – Brad Stewart
2. Yule My Hero (3) – Jade Metcalfe
3. Holiday Dreams (2) – Brooke Johnson
Time: 1:13.00
Margins: 2 1/2 lengths x long neck

Race 4 –  Seilers Transport / Jim’s Jerky 2024 Battle of the Bush Burrandowan Qualifier Open Plate (1175m)
1. Moscini (6) – Paul Hamblin
2. Fire King (3) – Rob Thorburn
3. Hard Landing (4) – Jace McMurray
Time: 1:15.00
Margins: Long neck x 1 1/2 lengths

Race 5 – Kellco Livestock Agents / Tom Hoare Memorial Burrandowan Cup Benchmark 55 Handicap (1740m)
1. Barclay’s Bank (5) – Jade Metcalfe
2. Valentino Tease  (7) – Jace McMurray
3. Master Drummer (8) – Landan Sykes
Time: 1:52.00
Margins: 2  3/4 lengths x nose

Sporting heroes  Carl Rackemann and Malcolm Johnston with the connections of Race 2 winner Scottish Farmer
Masterplan, with Brad Stewart aboard, leads the field home in the $13,700 Burnett To The Beach Final
Moscini hits the post ahead of Fire King in Race 4; Wondai Diggers Club Cup winner Hard Landing was third
Barclay’s Bank streaked down the outside to win the Burrandowan Cup as the skies darkened and rain began to fall

[UPDATED with correction]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.