Elaine Madill OAM thanked the guest speaker, former South Burnett Mayor Keith Campbell, for an “entertaining and insightful” talk about the region’s past, present and future (Photo: Supplied)

May 30, 2022

The COVID pandemic may have led to a long suspension for the South Burnett’s Order Of Australia lunches, but it didn’t spell the end of them.

The Wide Bay Burnett division of the Order of Australia Association held its first lunch in three years recently at the Kingaroy RSL Club.

Organiser Donna Duncan OAM was unable to attend due to illness but other members of the group were able to step in at short notice and make the day a great success.

Treasurer Rhonda Nix OAM and Branch chairman Dr Gary Bacon AM, from Brisbane, helped out along with Sunshine Coast organisers Marjorie Voss OAM and her husband Royce Voss OAM.

A large number of Association members from Kingaroy, Wondai and Murgon attended.

The group passed on their thanks to Kingaroy RSL’s Barry Krosch for all the help the RSL provided.

They also thanked the meeting’s special guest, former South Burnett Mayor Keith Campbell, who gave an entertaining talk about the past, present and future of the region.

“We all enjoyed a delightful meal and it was wonderful to have the companionship of so many interesting and knowledgeable people,” local OAM recipient Elaine Madill said.

“We hope the luncheon will now be able to become a regular event on our calendar again as we get back to the new normal.”

Kingaroy RSL’s Barry Krosch, standing, was thanked for his help in organising the event (Photo: Supplied)

* * *

What Is An Order of Australia?

Until 1975, Australia recognised its highest achievers with Imperial awards, the same as the United Kingdom.

But for the past 47 years these awards have been replaced by the Australian Honours System, introduced in February 1975. Knights and Dames were scrapped in 1986 (except for a brief period in 2014-15 when reintroduced by then-Prime Minister Tony Abbott).

Australians are now recognised with OAMs (Medal of the Order of Australia), AMs (Member of the Order Of Australia),  AOs (Officer of the Order of Australia) and ACs (Companion of the Order of Australia).

Awards are announced twice each year on Australia Day and the Queen’s Birthday in June, and are usually presented by State Governors.

Community News

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.