Counting of votes will begin as soon as polling closes at 6:00pm

May 20, 2022

If you haven’t voted already – and we know many of you already have! – Saturday is the actual Election Day to decide Australia’s new Federal Parliament.

There are three Federal Electorates which cover different parts of the South Burnett: Wide Bay, Flynn and Maranoa.

(What Electorate Am I In? Check My Enrolment)

A total of 24 candidates are running for office in these three House of Representatives electorates (see the list, below)

Voters will receive a Green ballot paper to vote for the House of Representatives. Every box on this Green ballot paper must be numbered.

Voters will also be handed a long White ballot paper to determine the make-up of the Senate (this is a half-Senate election).

On this White ballot paper, there are two ways to vote:

  • Either ABOVE THE LINE – Voters must number at least six boxes, from 1 to 6.
  • Or BELOW THE LINE – Voters must number at least 12 boxes, from 1 to 12.

Polling stations across Australia will open at 8:00am (local time) and close at 6:00pm.

In the local region, polling booths will be located at schools or halls in most towns and villages (see the list, below)

* * *

Early Voting On Friday

  • Kingaroy Showgrounds – 8:30am-6:00pm
  • Nanango Showgrounds – 8:30am-6:00pm

* * *

Voting On Saturday

Polling booths will be open at various locations throughout the local region from 8:00am to 6:00pm:

  • Bell – Bell P-10 School
  • Blackbutt – Blackbutt State School
  • Cherbourg – Cherbourg Town Hall
  • Cloyna – Cloyna State School
  • Coolabunia – Coolabunia State School
  • Cooyar – Cooyar State School
  • Goomeri – Goomeri P-10 School
  • Inverlaw – Inverlaw Farmers’ Hall
  • Kaimkillenbun – Kaimkillenbun State School
  • Kilkivan – Kilkivan P-10 School
  • Kingaroy – Kingaroy State High School, St John’s Lutheran School, Taabinga State School
  • Kumbia – Kumbia State School
  • Lower Wonga – Lower Wonga Hall
  • Maidenwell – Tanduringie State School
  • Mondure – Mondure Public Hall
  • Murgon – Murgon PCYC
  • Nanango – Nanango State School, Nanango State High School
  • Proston – Proston Community Hall
  • Widgee – Widgee State School
  • Wondai – Wondai Memorial Hall
  • Wooroolin – Wooroolin State School
  • Yarraman – Yarraman P-9 School

* * *

Candidates in Ballot Paper order:


1. Matt BURNETT – Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)
2. Paul BAMBRICK – Queensland Greens
3. Carla SVENDSEN – The Great Australian Party
4. Sharon LOHSE – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
5. Duncan SCOTT – Independent
6. Tanya Maree WIEDEN – United Australia Party
7. Colin BOYCE – Liberal National Party of Queensland


1. David LITTLEPROUD – Liberal National Party of Queensland
2. Malcolm J. RICHARDSON – Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party
3. Dave KERRIGAN – Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)
4. Nathan John McDONALD – United Australia Party
5. Ellisa PARKER – Queensland Greens
6. Mike KELLY – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
7. Brett James TUNBRIDGE – Australian Federation Party

Wide Bay

1. Kelli JACOBI – Independent
2. Nathan BUCKLEY – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
3. Tracy BENNETT – United Australia Party
4. Craig ARMSTRONG – Queensland Greens
5. Llew O’BRIEN – Liberal National Party of Queensland
6. John WOODWARD – Australian Federation Party
7. Tim JEROME – Independent
8. Geoff WILLIAMS – Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)
9. Daniel WILLIAMS – Australian Values Party
10. Andrea NEWLAND – Informed Medical Options Party

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.