Mareeba driver Matt Smith and his black Centura took out the National Production Sedan Title at the Kingaroy Speedway on Sunday night

April 20, 2022

It wasn’t the prettiest car on the track – and a Chrysler Centura doesn’t usually spring to mind as a race car – but the combination was just right for Mareeba driver Matt Smith to take home the National Production Sedan Title at the Kingaroy Speedway on Sunday night.

The 40-lap final topped off two hard days of racing for the almost 100 drivers who had nominated for the Production Sedan title.

Twenty-two cars made it through to the A Main.

Smith’s black Centura was a last-minute entry for the weekend, submitted just five days before race day.

Even Smith himself admitted the car had been almost “thrown together” at the last minute and on the podium he had a long list of people to thank for their help.

NSW drivers Matthew Layton and Max Clarke had pole position at the start of the final, with Clarke taking an early lead before retiring on Lap 7.

Reigning champion Joel Berkley then took over, ahead of Brad Scherer and Layton.

The way was cleared for Smith to tackle Berkley after both Scherer and Layton hit the wall on different laps.

Smith overcame a struggling Berkley – who started dropping back through the field – and held on to take the chequered flag ahead of a last-minute charge by Robert Trapp.

South Burnett drivers also featured across the weekend with Nathan Barbeler eclipsing the field in the first C Main to earn a spot in the B events.

Wondai’s Josh Harm and local hero Brett Barron also raced their hearts out to get into the A Main. Harm came to grief on Lap 10 while Barron pulled out on Lap 29.

The Modlite Dirt Nationals Queensland Title was also competed at the weekend in Kingaroy.

Mackay driver Brodie Boss scored a runaway win in the 30-lap final on Sunday night ahead of Casey Collins and former Kings Royal Modifieds champ Aidan Raymont.

A good crowd turned out on Saturday night for the racing, but was even bigger on Sunday to catch the last heats and the two big finals.

They were also treated to pit walks again, which have been absent due to COVID regulations at the past few meetings.

There’s more speedway action on again this Anzac Day weekend with the Production Stampede being run across Saturday and Sunday.

There will also be Street Stocks, Junior Sedans, National 4s, Modifieds and Late Models hitting the track.

Racing will start at 4:00pm on both days.

Mackay’s Brodie Boss roared to victory in the Modlite Queensland title

* * *


Production Car National Title

1. Matt Smith
2. Robert Trapp
3. Chris Pagel
4. Joel Berkley
5. Richard Cook

Modlite Queensland Title

1. Brodie Boss
2. Casey Collins
3. Aidan Raymont
4. Sam Gollschewsky
5. Terry Leerentveld

Hard Charger – Gavin Thomas

Matt Smith’s black Centura wasn’t the flashiest vehicle on track but it had the goods on the night
Smith celebrates his National Title win with a burnout to the delight of fans in the stands
The battle for 3rd and 4th spot in the first B Main
A bingle after the chequered flag in the second C Main
Racing three-wide across the track in the National Production Title final
Matt Smith and Brodie Boss celebrate their respective title victories
Brodie Boss completed his victory lap around the Kingaroy Speedway with some circle work in-field
Matt Smith did his National Title victory lap with the Australian flag
The Modlite Queensland Title podium … from left, Hard Charger Gavin Thomas, Casey Collins (2nd), Brodie Boss (1st) and Aidan Raymont (3rd)
National Production Sedan Title … from left, Richard Cook (5th), Robert Trapp (2nd) , Matt Smith (1st), Chris Pagel (3rd) and Joel Berkley (4th)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.