There’s no doubting who South Burnett Mayor Brett Otto and Senior Sergeant Dave Tierney are backing in Saturday’s A Grade Rugby League Grand Final

September 10, 2021

Saturday’s South Burnett Rugby League Grand Final promises to be a hotly contested clash between two local rivals … Murgon v Cherbourg.

The Hornets will have the home-field advantage – the big game kicks off at Jack O’Chin Oval in Cherbourg at 3:00pm.

Excitement about the local derby has been building all week, ever since the Mustangs defeated Minor Premiers Nanango in an unexpectedly one-sided Preliminary Final at Murgon Sportsground last Saturday (see below).

Murgon fans will also be cheering on their players in the Under 14s Grand Final in which the mini-Mustangs will be taking on the Kingaroy Red Ants in a replay of the Major Semi-Final.

In that game two weeks ago, Murgon triumphed in the second half after a tight contest in the first 25 minutes.

* * *

A Grade Teams

Here’s how the two A Grade rivals line up:

From top row to bottom, left to right … Christopher Bond, Lloyd Saltner, Daron Saltner-Bligh, Mauri Fisher, Elwyn Fewquandie, Michael Giles, Buddy Stanley, Wade Stanton, Karl Berlin, Eddie Aubrey Jnr, Jonathon Walsh, Jeff Vaughan, Michael Shepherd, Arthur Saltner, Shane Borninkhof, Ezekiel Stanley, Matt Wallace, Josiah Alberts, Jameel Sullivan, Lewis Hopkins, Lennox Bligh, Tom Burns
The Cherbourg Hornets A Grade team and officials (Photo: Barry Fisher Photography)

* * *

Under 14s Teams

The Under 14s Grand Final contestants:

Kingaroy team and officials …  Back row, from left, Nathan Prain, Ty Weekes, Tom Larsen, Harrison Braithwaite, Lincoln Calvert, Joshua Fearby, Thomas Frohloff, Corey McIntyre, Brett Watcho-Page, Tommy Beil, Carl Braithwaite (captain); front row, Sandra Prain, Harry Bell, Rusty Ramsay, Jamie Searle, Riley Gale, Tom Bell, Fletcher Prain, Liam Irwin, Rory Crumpton, Lawson Braithwaite, Sonie Crumpton; at front, Brayden Watcho-Page and Carter Page (absent, Michael Robinson)

[U14s Photos: Murgon JRLFC and Kingaroy JRLFC]

* * *

A Grade Preliminary Final

Cherbourg players celebrate after Fred Bell scored his hat-trick

In A Grade, Cherbourg 46 defeated Nanango 8 after Cherbourg led 26-4 at half-time.

The Stags had looked unbeatable earlier in the year but injury woes late in the season put paid to their Grand Final hopes, narrowly defeated 32-28 by Murgon in the Major Semi-Final before being walloped by Cherbourg in the Preliminary Final.

And the winning margin at full-time would have been larger if more of the Hornets’ conversion attempts had been successful – only three of Cherbourg’s 10 tries were converted (although a couple of attempts hit the posts before being waved away).

Cherbourg tries were scored by Fred Bell (3), Errol Simpson (2), Bernard Hopkins, Mark Saltner, Keith Gadd, Charlie Bond and Tyrone Murray.

Errol Simpson kicked three goals.

For Nanango, Chris Clarke scored two tries.

Some quick passing set up Chris Clarke to score in the corner for Nanango early in the game, taking the score to 4-all … Cherbourg piled on another five tries before half-time

* * *

Under 14 Preliminary Final

Corey McIntyre scores for Kingaroy just after half-time, taking the score to 12-0

In Under 14s, Kingaroy 12 defeated Nanango 6 in an evenly matched game after Kingaroy led 8-0 at half-time.

The scores were locked at nil-all until the last nine minutes of the first half, despite the Red Ants enjoying most of the possession.

Nanango’s first points came in the last three minutes of the game, but the Stags were on the attack and looking threatening when the full-time siren sounded.

Kingaroy try scorers were Liam Irwin, Thomas Larsen and Corey McIntyre.

For Nanango, Will Essen scored a try which was converted by Kaiden Weston.

Nanango was on the attack late in the game but simply ran out of time

* * *

Cheque Presentation

Members of the QRL and Auswide Bank travelled to the South Burnett on Saturday to present the Murgon Mustangs with the 2021 Auswide Bank Community Program of the Year award for their domestic violence prevention round held in May … Auswide Bank representative Janelle Walsh, centre, presented a cheque for $2000 to the Murgon JRLFC; from left, Cole Cooper (Mustangs), QRL Wide Bay chairman Danny McGuire, Scott Prendergast (Mustangs) and Edward Monaei (QRL) .

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.