August 20, 2021

COVID-19 restrictions in 11 south-east Queensland council areas – Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Ipswich, Lockyer, Somerset, Logan, Redland, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Noosa and Scenic Rim – will ease at 4:00pm on Friday.

Residents and visitors in the 11 council areas will no longer have to wear a mask at all times, but will still be required to carry one when they leave home.

However, masks must be worn indoors at shopping centres, supermarkets, retail outlets, hospitals and aged care facilities or when outside and unable to physically distance.

Other changes include allowing:

  • Up to 30 people in homes and public spaces
  • Up to 100 attendees at weddings, with a maximum of 20 people dancing
  • Up to 100 attendees at funerals
  • Community sport, with reduced spectators and in line with density requirements
  • 75 per cent ticketed and allocated seating capacity for stadiums, indoor and outdoor events.

* * *

From 1:00am on Saturday (August 21), restrictions at the Queensland border will tighten again for Border Zone residents and essential workers.

The latest Border Restriction Direction is on the Queensland Health website

* * *

Greater Darwin and Katharine in the Northern Territory are no longer considered COVID-19 hotspots in Queensland.

Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said people currently in quarantine in Queensland who arrived from Greater Darwin and Katharine will be able to leave quarantine once they return a negative COVID-19 test result.


Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Position Vacant, Hobbs And Associates, Wondai - click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.