Queensland’s Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young

July 29, 2021

Mask wearing in 11 south-east Queensland Council areas – including Somerset – will continue for another seven days, Queensland Health announced on Thursday.

The 11 affected Council areas are Brisbane, Gold Coast, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan City, Moreton Bay, Noosa, Redland City, Scenic Rim, Somerset and Sunshine Coast.

Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said the move was to mitigate the risk of further incursions of COVID-19 popping up across the State.

The announcement extends the restriction until Friday, August 6.

“It’s so important to wear a mask, and I genuinely believe they are stopping the spread into the community,” Dr Young said.

“They do more than just protect you. They also remind you to be a bit cautious; to keep 1.5m away from another person; to get tested if you have symptoms.

“They really are a very good strategy and that’s why it’s imperative we continue wearing them for an extra week.”

In the 11 affected Council areas, people must carry a face mask at all times, and wear a face mask when outside their homes, unless:

  • Alone in their car or with the members of their household
  • Eating or drinking
  • At their usual workplace and can physically distance from others (except if they work in a hospitality venue or are a passenger transport operator)
  • Alone outdoors or with members of their household
  • It is unsafe to do so.

There are some other exceptions to wearing face masks, including for children under 12 and people with particular medical conditions or disabilities.

  • A full list of mask rules is on the Queensland Health website

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Position Vacant, Hobbs And Associates, Wondai - click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.