FLASHBACK: Shauni and Abelee Stanley with their grandfather, Warry John “Pop” Stanley, at the footy in Wondai in 2015

February 3, 2021

Former Murgon Mustang – and briefly a Kingaroy Red Ant – Abelee Stanley has been selected to play for the Indigenous All Stars against the Maori All Stars on February 20.

The NRL announced the men’s and women’s teams for the star-studded games this week.

The double header will be the first major rugby league event at the new Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville.

Abelee has had an exciting rugby league career so far.

She started out as a young Mustang, and then became a Red Ant when the Kingaroy club entered girls’ teams in the Sunshine Coast competition.

During one game that southburnett.com.au reported, Abelee scored an amazing seven tries for Kingaroy U14s as she ran around the Beerwah defence at T.J. O’Neill Oval.

Abelee played for the Clydesdales U16s while at school in Toowoomba, and captained the Central Crows and South-West Mustangs U16s teams.

She made her debut in the BHP Premiership – Queensland’s top-level women’s league competition – for Ipswich Brothers in 2020, but sadly this competition was cancelled due to the pandemic.

Abelee is currently studying a Diploma of Arts and aiming to move into a Bachelor of Social Science at Bond University.

* * *

Men’s and Women’s Teams

Men’s Indigenous All Stars:
Latrell Mitchell, Blake Ferguson, Jack Wighton, Jesse Ramien, Josh Addo-Carr, Cody Walker, Jamal Fogarty, Andrew Fifita, Reuben Cotter, Josh Kerr, David Fifita, Wade Graham, Tyrone Peachey, Alex Johnston, Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, Cade Cust, Chris Smith, Tyrell Fuimaono, Josh Curran, Brian Kelly

Men’s Maori All Stars:
Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Joseph Manu, Dylan Walker, Reimis Smith, Jarome Luai, Jahrome Hughes, Jesse Bromwich, Brandon Smith, James Fisher-Harris, Briton Nikora, Kenneath Bromwich, Joseph Tapine, Jeremy Marshall-King, Kevin Proctor, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jordan Riki, Patrick Herbert, Bailey Simonsson, Benji Marshall

Women’s Indigenous All Stars:
Jaime Chapman, Taleena Simon, Monique Donovan, Jasmine Peters, Leticia Quinlan, Talia Fuimaono, Akira Kelly, Kaitlyn Phillips, Quincy Dodd, Caitlan Johnston, Shaniah Power, Shaylee Bent, Tallisha Harden, Lailee Phillips, Keilee Joseph, Olivia Kernick, Abelee Stanley, Ngalika Barker

Women’s Maori All Stars:
Corban McGregor, Botille Vette-Welsh, Amy Turner, Hayley Tipene, Jodeci Nicholson, Zahara Temara, Crystal Tamarua, Nita Maynard, Kennedy Cherrington, Maya Hill-Moana, Zali Eve Fay, Rona Peters, Lavinia Gould, Shannon Mato, Raecene McGregor, Roxy Murdoch, Page McGregor, Shanice Parker

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.