Health Minister Yvette D’Ath

January 29, 2021

Six hospitals across Queensland will serve as the distribution hubs for the rollout of the Pfizer vaccine when it becomes available.

On Friday, Health Minister Yvette D’Ath said Cairns, Townsville, the Royal Brisbane and Women’s, Princess Alexandra, Sunshine Coast University and Gold Coast University hospitals would be used as a base for the complex rollout.

“It has strict limitations on its storage, transport and distribution which makes it unsuitable for how we would normally roll out a widespread vaccination campaign,” Minister D’Ath said.

“We have chosen our State’s largest hospitals, from the top and tail of our state.

“Queensland will begin this process as soon as we receive the first Pfizer vaccines from the Federal Government.

“Every day is a step forward in our recovery from this pandemic, but this is a particularly exciting milestone for us all.”

Priority Group 1a would be the first to receive a vaccination:

  • Quarantine and border workers
  • Frontline healthcare workers
  • Aged care and disability care staff
  • Aged care and disability care residents

“When it’s appropriate for you to get a vaccine, I urge you all to do so,” Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said.

“We are ensuring we first protect the people who need it most. These are the people who are most at risk of exposure and severe disease.”

Tarong Community Partnership Fund - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.