Female Eagle of the Year Traevonnah Fisher and Senior Eagle of the Year Glen Fisher

November 3, 2019

Traevonnah and Glen Fisher were named South Burnett Eagles of the Year at the recent South Burnett Junior Rugby League awards presentation dinner held in Kingaroy.

Awards were presented to South Burnett Eagles players who played in competitions in Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast.

South Burnett players who were selected for duties with the Central Crows and the Wide Bay Bulls were also acknowledged.

Players, family members and volunteers gathered at Kingaroy State High School to enjoy a barbecue before the presentation ceremony.

The night was compered by interim SBJRL chairman David Tierney.

He said coaches had nominated players for the various awards which then went to a panel for assessment before the final decision.

David urged families to get involved in their local clubs: “It’s disappointing to go along to the games and it’s all the same people involved. Get involved!”

There were several special presentations made on the evening.

Lavina and Jeffrey Dynevor were presented with an Under 18s South Burnett Eagles jersey in memory of Hornets’ junior Triston “Checkers” Murray who died in September 2017.

Triston played alongside many of the U18s players during his junior years.

“In our hearts we played for Checkers all year,” team manager Greg Pomfret said.

“They have played for a reason, and I’m so proud of them.”

Greg, who resigned as SBJRL chairman mid-year, was presented with an autographed Wests Tigers jersey in recognition of his service.

He was elected to the SBJRL committee at the 2013 AGM and served as chairman for six years. His wife Tracey was also thanked. She served a term as Treasurer and was a long-time volunteer.

A new initiative for 2019 was the announcement of the inaugural “Allan Trunks South Burnett True Spirit Award” by Scott Prendergast from the “Beyond The Nest” junior league development program.

Allan played rugby league in the South Burnett from 1963-81 and coached many teams across south-east Queensland.

He played many games for Wondai and is a life member of the Wolves club. He represented Toowoomba, Wide Bay, Queensland Country and the South Burnett.

Allan was part of the winning South Burnett 47th Battalion team which defeated Gympie in 1970. In 1978, he coached the Wondai side which went through the season undefeated and beat Nanango 42-0 in the grand final.

“He displayed the characteristics of what our South Burnett Beyond The Nest program epitomises,” Scott said.

“The Allan Trunks Beyond The Nest award is about consistent effort.

“It acknowledges that person who takes a run when no one else wants to. It’s about chasing when you know there’s no chance of catching. And it’s that spirit, that’s a true South Burnett Eagle.”

Allan said he felt very privileged and humbled to have the award named after him.

The inaugural winner was Murgon Mustang Harry Perrett, a member of the 2019 Under 16s Eagles team.

* * *

SBRL Awards

  • Senior Eagle of Year – Glen Fisher
  • Female Eagle of Year – Traevonnah Fisher
  • Allan Trunks South Burnett True Spirit Award – Harry Perrett

Under 12 Girls

South Burnett Eagles Under 12 Girls with coach Evalyn Thompson
  • Most Improved – Ashleigh McConnell
  • Coaches Award – Tayalah Smith
  • Player of Year – Taya Solomon

Under 14 Girls

South Burnett Eagles Under 14 Girls with coach Nathan Dean
  • Best Back – Faith Ramsay
  • Best Forward – Brittni Soutter
  • Most Improved – Lacey Lee
  • Player of Year – Lillyanna Railton-Thompson

Under 17 Girls

South Burnett Eagles Under 17 Girls
  • Best Back – Sylvia Watson-Compton
  • Best Forward – Brenna Prendergast & Aimee Barron
  • Most Improved  – Cheyenne Cortes
  • Player of Year  – Traevonnah Fisher

Open Women

South Burnett Eagles Open Women’s players with coach Nathan Dean … the women played with Beerwah in the Sunshine Coast competition in 2019
  • Best Back – Michelle Alberts
  • Best Forward – Hayley Grattidge
  • Most Improved – Ashley August
  • Coaches Award – Maud Alberts

Under 16 Boys

South Burnett Eagles Under 16s Boys
  • Best Back – Christopher Kerkow
  • Best Forward – Lennox Bligh
  • Most Improved – Joshua Peterson
  • Player of Year – Glen Fisher

Under 18 Boys

South Burnett Under 18s Boys with Greg and Tracey Pomfret and coach Mitchell Cush
  • 47th Battalion Best Back – Tyreece Gyemore
  • 47th Battalion Best Forward – Jack Sullivan
  • 47th Battalion Most Improved – Harry Wilson
  • 47th Battalion Player of Carnival – Daron Bligh
  • Season Most Improved – Jaspar Millar
  • Season Best & Fairest – Dan English

* * *

2019 Central Crows

  • Glen Fisher
  • Traevonnah Fisher
  • Kaia Williams
  • Andy Champney
  • Errol Simpson Jnr
  • George Fisher

* * *

2019 Wide Bay Bulls

Under 14 Girls

  • Faith Ramsay
  • Sadie Langton
  • Lilyanna Railton-Thompson
  • Brittni Soutter
  • Lily Millar
  • Keturah Murray
  • Lacey Lee

Under 16 Boys

  • Steven Walsh
  • Matthew Springate
  • Glen Fisher
  • Lennox Bligh
  • Christopher Kerkow
  • Joshua Peterson

Under 16 Girls

  • Traevonnah Fisher
  • Aimee Barron
  • Bridie Prendergast
  • Reuban-Jayne Cuthbertson

Sheree Prendergast was thanked for her work for the SBJRL during the season

Life member of the Wondai Wolves Allan Trunks played league locally from 1963-81
Lavina and Jeffrey Dynevor were presented with a South Burnett Eagles’ jersey by Under 18s manager Greg Pomfret in memory of Triston Murray

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.