Timbertowners’ Shane Argent took the key early wicket of Dan O’Connor

April 8, 2019

A magnificent century by Blackbutt’s Mitchell Olzard blew away any chances Nanango might have had of taking home the South Burnett’s B Grade cricket trophy on Saturday.

When Olzard got caught out on 104 – after 46 minutes at the crease – he had faced just 32 balls and hit an amazing 10 sixes and 10 fours.

The Grand Final was a showdown between last year’s premiers, Blackbutt Timbertowners, and Nanango – one of only two teams to defeat Blackbutt during the season.

The match had been delayed a week due to rain, but conditions were perfect on Saturday morning at Bunny Pearce Oval in Blackbutt.

Nanango won the toss and elected to bat.

The visitors got off to a good start with Scorpions’ opener Dan O’Connor hitting a string of fours, getting the scoreboard ticking over at better than a run a minute.

In fact, he was hitting the ball so hard, he even cracked a bat …

But when O’Connor was trapped LBW by Shane Argent on 33, the odds on Blackbutt winning suddenly shortened.

Coming in at number three, Nanango captain Jay Steinhardt took over responsibility for run-making, top-scoring for the Scorpions with 47.

Matt Springate (27) and Jack Fleming (22) also added some valuable runs.

However, Nanango were all out for 170 in the 39th over after the lower order collapsed.

Kieran Harvey (2/8 off four overs, including one maiden) and Dylan Gilliland (3/27 off seven overs, including a maiden) were the best of the Blackbutt bowlers.

Shane Argent and Jamie Kruger also took two wickets apiece.

In reply, Blackbutt’s first three batsmen fell cheaply before Olzard walked to the wicket.

Just over three-quarters of an hour later, Olzard was caught out by Matt Springate off a Matthew Early ball … but the damage had well and truly been done.

Shane Argent (23) and Kieran Harvey (20) also added to the Timbertowners’ total.

Blackbutt overhauled the target set by Nanango in just 13.5 overs, finishing with 6/171.

Dan O’Connor (3/52 off five overs) and Early (2/21 off 2.5 overs) were the best of the Nanango bowlers.

Nanango captain Jay Steinhardt top-scored for Nanango with 47 runs
Dylan Gilliland took three wickets for Blackbutt off his seven overs
Dan O’Connor opened the batting for the Scorpions and hit four boundaries before being adjudged LBW

* * *

The South Burnett Cricket Association’s end-of-season trophies were presented at the end of the B Grade Grand Final:

A Grade Trophies

  • Batting Aggregate – Jason Webber – 511 runs
  • Batting Average – Matthew Dugdell – 60.71
  • Bowling Aggregate – Graham Brown – 25 wickets
  • Bowling Average – Bryce Edwards – 12.65
  • Most Wicketkeeper Dismissals – Damien Sippel – 11
  • Most Catches – Graham Brown – 8
  • Highest Score – Ashley Sippel – 141
  • Highest Partnership – Jason Webber & Kurt McArthur – 226
  • Best Bowling Figures- Graham Brown – 5/5
  • Cricketer of the Year – Ashley Sippel – 727 points

B Grade Trophies 

  • Batting Aggregate – Chanse Olm – 728 runs (Wooroolin)
  • Batting Average – Tom Langton – 90.57 (Cherbourg)
  • Bowling Aggregate – Zac Ennis – 32 wickets (Blackbutt)
  • Bowling Average – Ryan Sommerfeld – 10.69 (Murgon)
  • Most Wicketkeeper Dismissals – Daniel Trace – 21 (Kumbia)
  • Most Catches – Keegan Wright – 10 (Kumbia)
  • Highest Score – Ryan Kelly – 200 (Kumbia)
  • Highest Partnership – Jayden Steinhardt & Chance Olm – 192 (Wooroolin)
  • Best Bowling Figures – Barry Fisher Snr – 6/12 (Cherbourg)
  • Cricketer of the Year – Ryan Kelly – 1185 points (Kumbia)

Umpires’ Trophy went to the Scorpions’ Matthew Springate

Cherbourg’s Tom Langton finished the season with B Grade’s highest batting average

Tarong Community Partnership Fund - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.