What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Who Were The 1998 Winners?

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News, Rugby League, Sport

August 2, 2018

One of the highlights of the upcoming South Burnett Rugby League presentation night dinner will be a salute to the senior players who last won a 47th Battalion Trophy.

The 47th Battalion carnival has been running for almost 50 years, with both junior and senior games played in the Central Division.

The name of the competition honours the World War II service of the 47th Australian Infantry Regiment, also known as the “Wide Bay Regiment”, which had training centres in Murgon, Wondai and Kingaroy as well as Tiaro, Gympie, Childers, Howard and Bundaberg.

But the last time a South Burnett side took out the A Grade trophy was exactly 20 years ago … 

The players from that team have been invited back to attend the Presentation Dinner, which will be held at the South Burnett PCYC in Murgon on Saturday, August 18.

So who were they?

Murgon Mustangs stalwart Alicia Pidgeon was the assistant trainer of the South Burnett Eagles side which defeated the Sunshine Coast Falcons 24-22 in a thrilling final played at Wondai Sportsground on July 26, 1998.

She supplied a list of the players’ names:

  1. Monty Dynevor
  2. Chris McKay
  3. James Cronin
  4. Darren Plowman
  5. Nigel Williams
  6. Peter Cavanough
  7. George Langton
  8. Peter Brown
  9. Barry Hockey
  10. Dayle Fresser
  11. Gary Jeppesen
  12. Darren Packer
  13. Tony Olzard (c)
  14. Troy Perren
  15. Chris Nugent
  16. Ben Alexander
  17. Andrew Preston

Nigel Williams notched up a hat-trick for the Eagles with James Cronin scoring the South Burnett’s other try.  Barry Hockey (3) and Monty Dynevor added the extra points.

Darren Plowman was one of the standouts in a talented side. He went on to play for the Brisbane Broncos and South Queensland Crushers.

The coach was Bill Court.

* * *

The victorious South Burnett A Grade team after winning the 47th Battalion Trophy at Wondai in 1998. This was the last year that our league has held this trophy high. Source – Karen Olzard

Posted by History of the South Burnett Rugby League on Thursday, 26 October 2017

Protect yourself from COVID-19 - click hereEat fresh at Anderssons Fruit Market - click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *