Thrashers players from the 1990s … John Allery, Jimmy Kenny and Simon Sexton

November 4, 2012

The South Burnett Thrashers rugby union club wound up season 2012 – and celebrated the 20th anniversary of its foundation – at a packed function at the Booie Bello Vista near Kingaroy on Saturday night.

More than 80 people enjoyed swapping tales and listening to a “Thrashers Panel”, which included inaugural club president Ross Goodhew, answer questions, share tall tales and true, and re-live club glories.

Controversial questions such as “Who was the best player?” sparked good-hearted debate from the crowd.

The Bello Vista function room was specially decorated for the event with different jerseys from throughout the years featured.

Patrons also enjoyed an auction of memorabilia.

Club awards for the 2012 season were also announced:

  • Players’ Player – Mitch Clark
  • Best New Player – Rob Turner
  • Most Improved Player – Ian McLachlan
  • Best Forward – Scott Sims
  • Best Back – Jarred Dascombe
  • Best and Fairest – Shawn Hydes
  • Club Person of the Year –  Isabella Clark


Kristy Rossow, Ronald Saltner, Charlie Williams and Kristy Murray
Club president Shane O’Malley with his wife Amy
Ross Goodhew, right, with Shane “Butch” Day
Players from the 2000s … Ricardo Espinosa and Tommy Ballin
“Gordo” Miners with Owen “Boof” Hooper,
from Bundaberg