Member for Nananago Deb Frecklington - click here
What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Federal Election Ballot Draws Released

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News

The ballot draw for the upcoming Federal election on July 2 lists 23 candidates for Maranoa, Flynn and Wide Bay (Photo: AEC)

June 10, 2016

Nominations for the July 2 Federal election closed at noon on Thursday, and the draw which determines the order in which candidates appear on ballot papers was carried out on Friday, June 10.

After a slow start in May when just 10 candidates indicated their intention to nominate for the three Federal electorates that cross the South Burnett (Maranoa, Flynn and Wide Bay), the field has now expanded to 23 – the same number that ran in the 2013 poll.

Eight candidates will stand in Maranoa and eight in Flynn, while seven will contest Wide Bay.

The ALP, LNP, The Greens, Pauline Hanson’s One Nation and Katter’s Australian Party will field candidates in all three electorates.

Family First will field candidates in Maranoa and Wide Bay; Rise Up Australia and CountryMinded will field a candidate apiece in Maranoa; the Glenn Lazarus Team will field a candidate in Wide Bay; and three independents will throw their hat into the ring for Flynn.

All three electorates are currently held by the LNP.

However the retirement of sitting members Bruce Scott (Maranoa) and Warren Truss (Wide Bay) at the July 2 election will see newcomers David Littleproud and Llew O’Brien trying to retain the seats for the party.

Maranoa is considered one of the safest LNP seats in the country, and Mr Littleproud would need to suffer a swing greater than 22.3 per cent to lose it.

Wide Bay is also considered safe for the LNP, and a 13.2 per cent swing would be needed to prevent Mr O’Brien becoming its next Federal member.

However the margin in Flynn is tighter (6.5 per cent) and sitting member Ken O’Dowd will not be helped in this election by being the last candidate on the ballot paper.

The ballot draw order for all three electorates is shown below:


  1. Dave Kerrigan – Australian Labor Party
  2. Myfanwy Schenk – Family First
  3. Katherine Hompes – The Greens
  4. Sherrilyn Church – Rise Up Australia Party
  5. Luke Arbuckle – CountryMinded
  6. Rick Gurnett – Katter’s Australian Party
  7. David Littleproud – Liberal National Party of Queensland
  8. Lynette Keehn – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation


  1. Richard Love – Katter’s Australian Party
  2. Craig Tomsett – The Greens
  3. Nathan Fletcher – Independent
  4. Zac Beers – Australian Labor Party
  5. Phil Baker – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
  6. Duncan Scott – Independent
  7. Jordan Puku – Independent
  8. Ken O’Dowd – Liberal National Party of Queensland

Wide Bay

  1. Jannean Dean – Glenn Lazarus Team
  2. Elise Cottam – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
  3. Lucy Stanton – Australian Labor Party
  4. Llew O’Brien – Liberal National Party of Queensland
  5. Bron Marsh – The Greens
  6. Bruce Mayer – Family First
  7. Barry Cook – Katter’s Australian Party

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables