Kingaroy State School … Michelle Kranenburg, Rayne Hunt, Skye Landers and Jesse Hood

August 29, 2013

Children from nine South Burnett schools gathered in Kingaroy on Tuesday to test their memories – and their comprehension skills – in the inaugural South Burnett Readers’ Cup.

The hall at Kingaroy State School was packed with teams from State schools at Blackbutt, Coolabunia, Crawford, Kingaroy (three teams), Kumbia (three teams), Taabinga (three teams), Tanduringie (two teams), Wheatlands and Wondai (three teams) for the competition, part of Book Week.

All the students were in either Year 6 or Year 7.

They faced five rounds of 10 questions, each read out by Kingaroy State School teacher / librarian Julie Boyle from the podium.

Four rounds of questions were linked to the four books that the students had been set to read, while the last round was a wild card round with general questions about current children’s literature.

The teams had exactly one minute (timed by a computerised countdown) to write down the correct answer.

They were competing for a Perpetual Trophy.

Members of the first place team also earned a $10 voucher donated by Collins Booksellers, while team members in the 2nd and 3rd placed teams won McDonald’s vouchers.

Mrs Boyle said the competition had been very close.

Tanduringie Team 1 won the Cup, but then a tie-breaker had to be held to separate the second and third placegetters.

After some tough questions, Tanduringie Team 2 took out second place with Kumbia Team 3 coming in third.

Mrs Boyle said she hoped the competition could become an annual event.

It was organised by Mrs Boyle and Mrs Dixie Tessmann from Taabinga State School.

Blackbutt State School … Matilda Wild, Ruby Gee, Gemma Whitford and Matthew Rankin

The perpetual trophy and team trophy for the inaugural South Burnett Readers’ Cup

Kingaroy State School teacher / librarian Julie Boyle
Wheatlands State School … Ella Toomey, Meg Hansen, Tara Ewart, James Brimblecombe and Kyra Uren
Crawford State School … Isabella Maddock, Caleb Reed, Candice Rackemann and Alexis Cannon
Coolabunia State School … Mitchell Deweers, Tom Jensen, Caleb Jenkins, Emma Toohey and Keeley Flood