Josh Arrell and Megan Benson, from Kingaroy, won the "Best Dressed Couple" prize, a Marriott Hotel Gold Coast accommodation package

August 5, 2013

Nanango Race Club’s annual “Cup” day is always big … but Saturday’s meeting was huge with crowd numbers boosted by visitors in town for the evening centenary celebrations of the Nanango rugby league team.

The meeting marked the beginning of the new racing season, so Club trophies were distributed to the leading jockey, trainer and horse for 2012-13.

It was a good day for Kumbia trainer James Curtain, who not only was presented with the Trainer of the Year trophy but also went home with a 1st (Colonel Sodhi in Race 1) and a 3rd (Belwina in Race 2).

Horse of the Year was Red Suit, owned and trained by Caroline Allardyce from Gatton.

Jockey of the Year was Chris Kearney.

Also sashed for the 2013-14 season was the Race Club’s Ambassador, a role which will be reprised by Noel Trace.

The fashion theme of the meeting was “Winter White and Midnight Black” and the crowd, from the youngest toddler to the oldest punter, seemed eager to comply.

The black / white theme was extended into a special marquee, erected on behalf of the Carrollee Hotel, which was packed with partygoers and even had its own dedicated bookie.

The six-race card featured some very close racing.

Jockeys Billie-Rose Derbyshire and Brooke Ainsworth both rode a double.

The prestigious Nanango Cup was taken out by Jason Hoopert on “Mimics”.

In Race 2, jockey Lyall Appo’s mount Jet Largo was scratched at the barrier after twice breaking through the box and then refusing to load.

Rip’n’Twist, who threw jockey Shannon Apthorpe at the May meeting at Nanango, made some amends with a second in Race 1.

Jason Hoopert scoots away on Mimics to win the Nanango Cup
Nanango Cup success ... Nanango Cup sponsors Ben and Lisa O'Callaghan, from the Carrollee Hotel, with "Mimics", strapper Stuart Tabke, owner /trainer Lyn Paton and jockey Jason Hoopert
Karlee Dickson, from the Sunshine Coast, and Christie Young, from Kingaroy, were dressed to the "Winter White and Midnight Black" theme
Tony Anthony, from Thargomindah, and Dolly Hansen, from Kingaroy
Sandi Gibson and Damien Beer, from Kingaroy, were relaxing in the Carrollee Hotel marquee
Nicole Connolly, Sheena Uebergang and Kimberley Dove, from Kingaroy
Jacinta Franks and Tamika Jones, from Kingaroy
Katinka Von Elsner-Wellsteed, from Nanango, and Kaho Obana, from Japan; Kaho has been visiting from Fudooka High School
"Red Suit" owner / trainer Caroline Allardyce was presented with the Nanango Race Club trophy for Horse of the Year by Noel Trace
Cr Barry Green and Racing Ambassador Noel Trace presented the trophy for "Trainer of the Year" to Kumbia trainer James Curtain
Fashions of the Field runner-up Amy Hall with her sons Braiden, 2, and Jack, 6; Jack won the Best Dressed Boy competition
Fashions of the Field winner Anna Hobbs, from Widgee; Anne was at the races with her fiance Bill Pukallus, from Gympie
Best Dressed Teens ... Ben Brooks, Kingaroy; and Libby McEwen, from Goomeri
Best Dressed Girl runner-up Dakota Collins, Dalby; and winner Emily Brooks, Kingaroy
Council entrants in the fashions stakes ... Cr Keith Campbell and CEO Ken McLoughlin
A pair of Saints ... Men's Fashions of the Field runner-up Daniel Clacy and winner Will Reid
Rev Avriel Green, centre, from the Nanango Anglican Church, blessed all the jockeys before the meeting - and the racing season - began (Photo: Denise Keelan)
Reg and Libby McCallum with Nanango Race Club president John Lee and the 1869 Nanango Cup, won by 'Pilgrim', which was owned, trained and ridden by Reg McCallum's grandfather Pat
South Burnett mayor Wayne Kratzmann and Stanwell's Phil David with a plaque to mark the support for the extensions to the Nanango Race Club's undercover seating area
Glen Radunz, Tegan Dennien, Jason Tessmann and Mitch Freeman (plus a couple of photobombers!) were having fun in the Carrollee Hotel marquee
James Ward, Murgon; Fiona Franz, Nanango; Maddie Pitstock, Goomeri; and Belinda Holliday, Hervey Bay
Fashions of the Field judges Paul O'Rourke (Bendigo Bank), his wife Juanita and Elaine Dittmam, from Racing Queensland
Jessica Marshall, from Noosa; Pauline Roberts, Kingaroy; and Nicole Blokland, Michelle Thompson and Kristy Smith, from the Gold Coast, in the Carrollee Hotel marquee
Having fun at the races ... Andrew Tonks, Rusty James and Wade Raabe, from Kingaroy; Jason Tessmann, Coolabunia; Ashley Stokes, Dalby; and Scott Barrow, Kingaroy


Race 1 – Bechly’s Transport Maiden Plate (800m)
1. Colonel Sodhi  (1) – Billie-Rose Derbyshire
2. Rip ‘n’ Twist (13) – Rhiannon Payne
3. Rock With The Star (7) – Shannon Apthorpe
Time: 0:46.70
Margins: 2 1/2 lengths x head

Race 2 – Deb Frecklington MP Class 1 Handicap (1000m)
1. Ta Rara Boom De Ay (14) – Brooke Ainsworth
2. Presidential (2) – Ian Coombes
3. Belwina (15) – Jason Hoopert
Time: 0:59.00
Margins: 3 lengths x 1/2 head

I Do Care, on the rails, edges out Chivas On Ice to win by a nose in Race 3

Race 3 – McDonalds Kingaroy QTIS Maiden Handicap (1200m)
1. I Do Care (3) – Ian Coombes
2. Chivas On Ice (7) – Brooke Ainsworth
3. Al Jalila (14) – Nathan Evans
Time: 1:12.52
Margins: nose x 1 1/2 lengths

Race 4 – Huston Nissan BenchMark 65 Handicap (1200m)
1. Intadom (6) – Brooke Ainsworth
2. Ghost Train (3) – Brooke Stower
3. Gaelstorm (5) – Leanne McCoy
Time: 1:09.50
Margins: 4 1/4 lengths x short neck

Race 5 – Carrollee Hotal Nanango Cup Open Handicap (1600m)
1. Mimics (5) – Jason Hoopert
2. Harney (1) – Desiree Gill
3. Release Me (3) – Lyall Appo
Time: 1:34.10
Margins: 3/4 length x 1/2 head

Race 6 – Caltex Energy Class B Handicap (1600m)
1. Wild Rumours (9) – Billie-Rose Derbyshire
2. Double Top (10) – Nathan Evans
3. Bring The Rain (1) – Tamara Tinckell
Time: 1:36.60
Margins: 1/4 length x 1 1/4 lengths

Nanango Race Club president John Lee, race sponsor Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington, Race 2 winner Ta Rara Boom De Ay with strapper Kirsty Batson and owner Greg Ramsay

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables