The victorious South Burnett team will play in the Goodchild Shield Final in February
Jon Alexander took five wickets as he tore through the Gympie batsmen with his pace attack

December 16, 2012

South Burnett has taken revenge for its grand final loss last season, knocking last year’s Goodchild Shield winners Gympie out of the competition with a comprehensive 190-run victory at Lyle Vidler Oval in Kingaroy this afternoon.

They will now play in the Grand Final on February 3.

South Burnett batted first and were 9/311 after 50 overs.

Dan O’Connor and Anthony Eden pulled the Gympie attack apart, scoring 96 and 91 respectively. Brendan Weil also knocked out a respectable 32.

Best of the Gympie bowlers were Mark Smith, 2/41 off 10 overs; and Neil McFarlane,  2/58 off 10 overs.

In reply, Gympie were bowled out for just 121.

Jon Alexander tore through the Gympie batsmen, taking 5/22 off eight overs. Captain Freddy Davies’ slow spinners also tricked the Gympie tail; he ended up with four wickets for 31 runs off 7.4 overs.

Best of the Gympie batsmen were Danny Shepperson (27) and Brendan Mahaffey (26).

The prestigious Goodchild Shield is contested by four A Grade teams: South Burnett, Fraser Coast, Gympie and Bundaberg.  The last time the South Burnett won the competition was in 2011.

The South Burnett will now play the winner of today’s game between Bundaberg and the Fraser Coast in the Grand Final. The team with the higher net run rate will host the match.

NB. We will update this report with additional information when it becomes available.

UPDATE: January 7, 2013: The South Burnett will host the Goodchild Shield Final on Sunday February 3 at Lyle Vidler Oval. The South Burnett’s net run rate was 1.1173 and Bundaberg’s was 0.3441

UPDATE January 9, 2013: The Goodchild Shield game between South Burnett and Bundaberg will now be played on Sunday, February 10, at Lyle Vidler Oval in Kingaroy. The change of date has been brought about because the original date clashed with a carnival in Mundubbera. 

Freddy Davies takes the last wicket ... and South Burnett are into the final

* * *

At Murgon on Saturday, Wondai Wolves defeated Murgon Diggers by 53 runs in their B Grade match.

Wolves batted first and were 6/196 after 40 overs.

Top scorers were Geoff Wallis (69), James Cameron (47) and Matt Stumer (38).

Best of the Diggers’ bowlers were Steve Alexander, 2/10 off four overs; Les Alexander, 2/25 off eight overs; and Tavis Hartwig, 2/32 off eight overs.

In reply, Diggers were all out for 143 after 39.2 overs. Best of the Murgon batsmen were J Summerfeld (34), Rodney Anderson (23) and Steve Alexander (23).

Wolves bowlers: Robbie Steinhardt, 3/20 off 5.2 overs; James Cameron, 2/15 off eight overs and Toren Anderton, 2/32 off seven overs.

* * *

At Murgon High School, Warriors defeated Barambah by 169 runs in their B grade game on Saturday.

Warriors were 6/336 after their 40 overs.

Top scorers were Hayden Wieck (125), Brayden Clark (95) and Steve Price (51).

Best of the Barambah bowlers were Tom Simpson, 2/50 off eight overs; and Errol Simpson, 2/58 off eight overs.

In reply, Barambah were dismissed for 167 in 26 overs.

Top scorers were K Walsh (59), Curtis Hill (29) and Delray Moses (27).

Best of the Warriors’ bowlers were Peter Sorensen, 3/17 off 3 overs; Ian Haak,  3/30 off seven overs; and Brodie Dionysius, 3/30 off five overs.

* * *

Oops ... Kingaroy RSL's Simon Fairbairn gets away with a wayward shot to silly point

Kingaroy RSL defeated Warriors by four wickets at Lyle Vidler Oval on Saturday.

Warriors batted first and were all out for 136. Andrew Askin topscored with 38.

Best of the Kingaroy bowlers were Wayne Kelly, 3/21 off nine overs; David Hosking 3/20 off four overs; and Tony Dugdell, 2/20 off nine overs.

In reply, Kingaroy made the target in 26 overs with the loss of six wickets.

Brady Roberts (34) amd Anthony Dunn (25) were the top scorers.

Best of the Warriors’ bowlers was James Dundas who took 2/44.

Position Vacant - click here