Brisbane and 12 other local government areas will go into a mandatory three-day lockdown from 6:00pm on Tuesday

June 29, 2021

Eleven council areas in south-east Queensland – plus two in North Queensland – will go into a three-day COVID-19 lockdown from 6:00pm on Tuesday.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the tightening of restrictions at a media conference on Tuesday afternoon.

The 13 local government areas affected are:  Brisbane, Gold Coast, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Moreton Bay, Noosa, Redlands, Scenic Rim, Somerset and Sunshine Coast plus Townsville City (including Magnetic Island) and Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council.

South Burnett, Cherbourg, Toowoomba and Gympie councils are NOT included, but Linville and Moore residents should note that Somerset is.

Queensland Health has also updated the list of contact tracing sites, and has urged people to check it often as it will continue to be updated.

The lockdown restrictions will be reviewed on July 2.

* * *

The lockdown follows the revelation a 19-year-old casual clerical worker at Prince Charles Hospital in Brisbane tested positive on Monday to COVID-19.

The woman, who lives at Sandgate, was working outside a COVID-19 ward.

Premier Palaszczuk said she was “absolutely furious” the receptionist had not been vaccinated.

Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said the woman developed symptoms on June 21 but had been infectious in the community since June 19.

During this time she travelled around Brisbane and then flew to Townsville on June 24, holidayed on Magnetic Island, attended the Sunday markets in Townsville and flew back to Brisbane on Sunday (June 27).

Genomic testing is under way to determine what strain the woman has.

Premier Palaszczuk said the risk was real, and the State Government had to move fast.

UPDATE: It has been confirmed that the receptionist has the highly infectious Delta variant.

* * *

What The Lockdown Means

Everyone in the 13 council areas (defined above) must stay at home, except for essential reasons.

Anyone who was in any of the 13 council areas on or since 6:00pm on Tuesday (June 29) must also follow the same lockdown rules, even if they are no longer in those areas.

During the lockdown, people can only leave their residences:

  • To obtain essential goods or services, or access healthcare (including vaccinations)
  • Exercise (with their household group and/or one other person not from their household)
  • Attend essential work or childcare
  • Assist vulnerable persons

Queensland Health said people should stay in their local area wherever possible.

Other restrictions in the 13 council areas include:

  • Only two visitors are allowed at home (excluding volunteers and workers)
  • People must carry a face mask at all times outside home
  • Masks must be worn indoor spaces, such as shopping centres and supermarkets, indoor workplaces (where safe to wear a mask and you can’t physically distance), public transport, taxis and rideshare, and waiting places or queues for this transport, airports and travelling on planes.
  • Masks do not need to be worn in some circumstances, including children under 12 years, where people have certain medical conditions, and in workplaces where it is not safe to do so.
  • Masks may be removed when sitting down to eat and drink, undertaking strenuous exercise and for employment purposes.
  • Non-essential businesses in the 13 council areas are not allowed to operate. Cinemas, entertainment and recreation venues, hairdressers, beauty and personal care services, gyms and places of worship will all close.
  • Childcare centres will remain open.
  • Restaurants and cafes can provide takeaway or home delivery services only.
  • Funerals will be limited to 20 people, and weddings will be limited to 10, including the celebrant and the couple.
  • Restrictions on aged care, hospitals, disability care and correctional facilities apply, with no personal visitors allowed. Anyone attending these facilities in the 13 council areas –  including staff – must wear a mask. People will still be able to visit their loved ones who are at end of life.

Anyone who has been in the 13 council areas can return home but must follow the same lockdown rules when they return home, regardless of where their destination is.

People outside the 13 council areas can travel through the lockdown areas, without stopping.

* * *

From 1:00am on Wednesday (June 30), Perth and the Peel council areas in Western Australia, and Darwin, Palmerston, Litchfield, Wagait and Belyuen council areas in the Northern Territory will be declared hotspots.

Visitors from these areas will require an exemption to enter Queensland and returning residents will have to do 14 days hotel quarantine at their own expense.

* * *

External links:

Related articles:


Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Australia Post Invitation To Tender- click here


BIEDO CEO Position Description - click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.