Cr Kathy Duff with the silver bracelet which she presented to the winning jockey in the Burrandowan Cup

May 13, 2021

Crowds at this year’s Burrandowan Races were down due to COVID restrictions, but racegoers just seemed happy the traditional event could go ahead after last year’s cancellation.

The weather on Saturday was perfect, unlike the last outing in 2019 when racegoers were almost blown away by unseasonal winds  …

Punters had five races to choose from but many also stayed behind after Race 5 to enjoy tucker from the pit-fired barbecues and live music into the evening.

The fashions competitions were strongly supported, with ladies and gents parading before judges and spectators on a specially built stage away from the main race area.

The Burrandowan Picnic Race Club is now gearing up for a bumper celebration next year for the 2022 centenary.

It’s on May 7, so mark your diaries!

Nanango author and historian Dr Judith Grimes OAM is compiling a book to celebrate 100 years of racing at the track which will be launched at next year’s event.

Anyone with information, anecdotes or photos is invited to get in touch with her by email

The centenary year will also be extra special for South Burnett councillor Kathy Duff whose grandparents met at that first Burrandowan Picnic Races in 1922.

John Patrick Duff entered his nag “Thunderclap” in the Ladies Bracelet that year, a race which had a bracelet (actually a gold watch and band) as the prize.

The horse had to be nominated in the name of a lady, and he picked Dorothea Ruth Mortimer Evans – whom he had just met on race day.

Thunderclap won, Duff presented the prize watch to Dorothea, and the couple were married four years later on St Patrick’s Day.

Every year, Cr Duff honours the memory of her grandparents by presenting a silver bracelet – which she crafts herself – to the jockey who rides the winner of the Burrandowan Cup.

This year, she presented the special trophy to Isabella Teh who won aboard topweight Daunting Warrior.

Nanango author and historian Dr Judith Grimes OAM is compiling a history of the Burrandowan Picnic Races
Kumbia Race Club president – and keen racegoer – Brian Lenihan with Marlene Baker, Toowoomba
Sigi Turner and Rachel Beutel, Wondai; Bri Ziegler, Hivesville; and Madison Smith, Proston
Glen and Helen Irwin, Caloundra, with Noel Schmidt and Danny Hurt, Kingaroy
Wooroolin vet Steve Kelly with Burrandowan Race Club president Cameron Redman and Leigh Devenish, Meandarra
Kingaroy Catholic Parish priest Fr Chukwudi Chinaka, Cr Kathy Duff, St Mary’s Catholic College principal Carmel O’Brien and Michael Harris
Working hard were Burrandowan volunteers Katie Stone, Annie McGill, Bonnie McGill, 13, and Taylah Hatton, 12
Gayle Lamping was one of the many Kingaroy Lions Club volunteers working in the canteen
Crowds were a lot thinner on the ground at the 2021 Burrandowan due to COVID restrictions

* * *

Fashions On The Field

Fashions On The Field shifted to a new location this year, a dedicated arena behind the wine bar.

The three judges had a tough time separating the winners in the competitive categories: Best Dressed Classic Lady, Best Dressed Contemporary Lady, Best Dressed Gentleman and Best Millinery.

Presentations were also made in the Boys and Girls (Under 13) and (Under 17); and the Best Dressed Couple categories.

Fashions judges … from left, Madie Moloney, Durong; Marshall Arnold, Kaimkillenbun; and Kayde Lehman, Bell
Best Dressed Classic Lady … Verelle O’Shanesy, Kingaroy, and runner-up Amy Smoothy, from Alice Creek
Best Dressed Contemporary Lady … runner-up Kacey McEwan, Dalby; and winner Cr Kirstie Schumacher, Kingaroy
Best Dressed Gentleman … winner Dan Rutley, Booie; and runner-up Shane Jaszczyszyn, Toowoomba
Best Dressed Couple … Linda and Shane Jaszczyszyn, Toowoomba
Best Millinery … Runner-up Amy Smoothy, Alice Creek; and winner Julia Thomas, Kingaroy
Amy Smoothy with Judges’ Choice entrants in the Under 13s … Elizabeth, 7, and Clancy Smoothy, 6


* * *

In what’s now become another Burrandowan tradition, Eloise Mashford sounded the First Call ahead of each race
Race 2 winners … Toowoomba trainer Jackie Crompton, strapper Josh Morrow, jockey Hannah Richardson and owners Judy and Merv Randall, Jandowae, with ‘Foxy Rose’

* * *

The field kicks up dust as its heads down the main straight in Race 4


Race 1 – Seilers Transport/O’Reilly Nunn Favier Surveyors Class B Handicap (1050m)
1. A Good Chance (4) – Leeanne McCoy
2. Freedom Reigns (7) – Hannah Phillips
3. Our Boy Borris (6) – Ty Wheeler
Time: 1:02.15
Margins: Neck x 2 lengths

Race 2 – Combined Business Houses Of Kingaroy QTIS Maiden Plate (1175m)
1. Foxy Rose (12) – Hannah Richardson
2. Stormzone (2) – Ben Moffat
3. Takemeoutback (3) – Hannah Phillips
Time: 1:11.52
Margins: 3 1/2 lengths x neck

Race 3 – Nutrien Ag Solutions/Jim’s Jerky/Gilliland Livestock Marketing Ratings Band 0-60 Handicap (1175m)
1. Oakfield Comanche (2) – Hannah Phillips
2. Miss Bulitz (5) – Rebecca Goldsbury
3. Ringo’s Magic (10) – Ty Wheeler
Time: 1:11.59
Margins: Long head x 2 lengths

Race 4 – Kewpie 2021 Battle Of The Bush Burrandowan Qualifier Open Plate (1175m)
1. Galapagos (6) –  Robert Faehr
2. Mac’s Gal (5) – Ben Moffat
3. Sweet Venom (9) – Hannah Richardson
Time: 1:11.49
Margins: 3/4 length x 1 1/4 lengths

Race 5 –  Kelloco Livestock Agent/Patrons Trophy Burrandowan Cup/Coast To Country Series BM 55 Handicap (1740m)
1. Daunting Warrior (1) – Isabella Teh
2. Coach (2) – Robert Faehr
3. Point The Wagon (3) – Ben Moffat
Time: 1:52.57
Margins: 3/4 length x 3/4 length

Hannah Richardson, on Foxy Rose, galloped away to an easy win in Race 2
It was a closer finish in Race 3, with Oakfield Comanche (Hannah Phillips) greeting the judge a long head ahead of Miss Bulitz (Rebecca Goldsbury)

* * *

Related articles:

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.