Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk (Photo: Twitter)

April 8, 2020

People are now banned from travelling to three Queensland islands popular with holidaymakers as part of COVID-19 restrictions.

Travellers are banned from heading to Minjerribah (North Stradbroke Island), Moorgumpin (Moreton Island) and K’gari (Fraser Island) unless they live there, work there, or are travelling for permitted purposes.

The new directive from the Chief Health Officer means a person who does not live on these designated islands can only travel there for work, to access health care and other services or other permitted purposes including people travelling for compassionate reasons.

Travelling for a holiday or any kind of recreation is not permitted.

People coming from a high risk area or from overseas will also have to self-quarantine for 14 days upon entering a designated area.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the three islands were popular destinations over the Easter period but this was no time for travelling outside where you live.

“This is a time for staying in your communities,” the Premier said.

“It’s a time for families to stay at home and stay safe and healthy.

“The last thing we need is people travelling outside their communities unless it’s essential.

“This travel ban will be enforceable, just as the other directives of the Chief Health Officer have been.

“If you are traveling to these islands and you don’t live there, if it’s not for work or for a permitted purpose, Queensland Police may fine you more than $13,000.

“There are exemptions in place for those who need to travel like parents and carers, workers and those travelling for other essential reasons.”

Positions   Vacant - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.