What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Council Divisions Set To Change

Filed under Breaking News, Council, Latest News, Media Gallery

The South Burnett's six Council divisions are set to alter as the result of a four-yearly review to reflect changes in the region's population since the 2016 Council elections (click on the image for a larger version)

Local Government Minister Stirling Hinchliffe

July 1, 2019

Residents have until 5:00pm next Monday (July 8) to lodge objections to a proposed realignment of the South Burnett Regional Council’s six divisions.

The realignment is being made by the Local Government Change Commission (LGCC), an independent body set up by the Electoral Commission of Queensland.

The aim of the review is to take account of population changes in the South Burnett over the past four years.

By law, the LGCC has to review divisional boundaries in the year before the next Local Government elections, due in March.

Each council division is required to have a similar number of electors so each resident’s vote carries the same weight.

The SBRC is one of 17 Queensland councils under review.

If approved, the changes will have little effect on Divisions 1 and 2 (ie. Nanango and Blackbutt) but will see a large slice of Kingaroy moved from Division 4 to Division 3.

Some residents living near the edges of the current Divisions 4, 5, 6 will also see changes.

At present, the number of residents in each division varies between 3521 (Division 5) and 4173 (Division 4), a difference of 652 people.

Under the proposed new arrangements, this would reduce to between 4046 (Division 3) and 3682 (Division 1), a difference of 364 people between the most and least-populated divisions.

After the close of public submissions, the changes will be forwarded to Local Government Minister Stirling Hinchliffe for final approval.

A final decision on the new boundaries is expected within the next few months.

Serving South Burnett councillors are Cr Roz Frohloff (Div 1), Cr Gavin Jones (Div 2), Cr Danita Potter (Div 3), Cr Terry Fleischfresser (Div 4), Cr Kathy Duff (Div 5) and Cr Ros Heit (Div 6).


Detailed maps of the current (blue) and proposed (red) new divisions can be downloaded as PDFs from the Electoral Commission’s website (see links above)

Huskys Burgers Kingaroy - click hereAnderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *