The Cherbourg Checkpoint will remain in place for the time being despite the further easing of travel restrictions

UPDATE June 15, 2020:

Wanting to visit Cherbourg? Restrictions changed again on Monday morning …

If you live in the Cherbourg “Declared Travel Zone” – ie. South Burnett Region, Gympie, Toowoomba and Noosa – you can freely visit Cherbourg but you will need proof of residence in these regions.

Identification can include: Driver’s Licence, 18+ Card, Centrelink card, Passport (not expired more than two years), Birth Certificate (not an extract), Health Insurance Card, Medicare Card including family members, Motor Vehicle Registration/Electricity Account, Letter from Council CEO/Mayor verifying you are a resident, known by QPS/Health Personnel of Cherbourg with QPrime verification.

Visitors who live outside of the “Declared Travel Zone” will need a “Remote Community Pass” issued by the Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young.

* * *


June 12, 2020

Travel restrictions have been eased further for Cherbourg residents following the transition from Federal Government emergency restrictions to State-based arrangements on Friday (June 12).

The issuing of exemption passes, managed by the Cherbourg Local Disaster Management Group, has stopped.

All queries and applications will now be dealt with by Queensland’s Chief Health Officer, Dr Jeannette Young.

Cherbourg residents now have unlimited access to a “Declared Travel Zone” – ie. the South Burnett, Toowoomba, Gympie and Noosa – and can stay away from the community as long as they like.

Family members who live outside Cherbourg – but within the Declared Travel Zone – can visit Cherbourg but must carry a “Remote Community Pass”.

This pass is available online

Cherbourg Council said the Vehicle Checkpoint would remain in place on Cherbourg Road and Australian Army personnel and police would continue to manage it.

People travelling through the checkpoint have been encouraged to carry correct ID, eg. driver’s licence, 18+ card etc.

Council has urged visitors to stay away from the community if they are unwell.

* * *

“Declared Travel Zones” have also been set in place for other Indigenous communities around Queensland:

  • Woorabinda residents can visit Rockhampton, Central Highlands, Banana and Livingstone
  • Palm Island – Townsville and Hinchinbrook
  • Yarrabah –  Cairns, Tablelands, Mareeba, Douglas and the Cassowary Coast
  • Burke, Mornington, Doomadgee –  Mt Isa, Cloncurry and Carpentaria
  • Torres Strait Island, Torres Shire, Northern Peninsula area, Mapoon, Napranum, Aurukun, Pormpuraaw, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Cook Shire, Hope Vale, Wujal Wujal, Weipa town area – Cairns, Carpentaria, Mareeba, Tablelands and Douglas

External link: Restricted Access To Remote Communities Health Direction

Downer Position Vacant - click here
Downer Position Vacant - click here

One Response to "Cherbourg Travel Restrictions Ease"

  1. Mark Luck  June 12, 2020

    Congratulations to the Cherbourg community and the Regional Council.You have managed a potentially disastrous situation with efficiency and minimum fuss.Well done on looking after your residents.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.