A rural firefighter at the Pechy blaze in which several homes were lost … the Toowoomba Regional Council area will remain under the State of Fire Emergency Declaration (Photo: QFES)
Acting Commissioner Mike Wassing

November 20, 2019

The State of Fire Emergency Declaration imposed on 42 local government areas in early November has been partially wound back as fire conditions ease.

However, it will remain in force in six council areas, including Toowoomba and Somerset, and Local Fire Bans have been reintroduced in other local government areas, including the South Burnett, Cherbourg, Gympie and North Burnett regions (see below).

The far-reaching Emergency Declaration was imposed across a large stretch of the State on November 9 to ban activities that could cause fires to ignite, including the use of power tools, barbecues and naked flames outdoors.

Councils covered by the State of Emergency included the South Burnett, Cherbourg, Gympie, North Burnett and Toowoomba areas.

The move was in response to an escalating bushfire risk gripping parts of Queensland.

“The State of Fire Emergency Declaration now applies only to Toowoomba, Lockyer Valley, Somerset, Ipswich, Southern Downs and Scenic Rim local government areas,” Acting Commissioner Mike Wassing said.

“Significant blazes continue to burn in these areas and the bushfire risk remains high, which is why the Declaration will continue until further notice.

“The Declaration has been cancelled in areas where the bushfire danger has fallen.

“QFES will continue to closely monitor the risks in the local government areas still under the Declaration and will lift restrictions when it is safe to do so.”

* * *

A fire ban is current from 10:00am Wednesday (November 20) to 11:59pm on Sunday, December 8 in the South Burnett, Cherbourg, Gympie and North Burnett council areas. Yarraman, Cooyar and Linville residents should note that the Toowoomba and Somerset council areas are still covered by the State of Fire Emergency Declaration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.