Mayor Wayne Kratzmann, centre, with members of his new team today: from left, Cr Debra Palmer (Div 2), Cr Cheryl Dalton (Div 6), Cr Kathy Duff (Div 5) and Cr Keith Campbell (Div 4). Also elected was Cr Damien Tessmann (Div 3). The results of Division 1 (Nanango) are still too close to call

April 29, 2012

The South Burnett woke up this morning to a new Mayor and five re-elected councillors … with only the result in Division 1 (Nanango) still undecided.

The decision by former Mayor Cr David Carter to withdraw his nomination at the last moment meant the only other nominee, former CROW-FM breakfast announcer and Wondai Shire Deputy CEO Wayne Kratzmann, was elected unopposed to the mayoralty.

Also re-elected unopposed were Cr Debra Palmer (Division 2), Cr Damien Tessmann (Division 3) and Cr Kathy Duff (Division 5).

At 2:00pm today, Division 1 was still in the balance although incumbent Barry Green had edged ahead to 773 votes, ahead of former Nanango Shire councillor Steve Jeffery on 699, Sandy Towell on 619 and Mark Ladyman on 116.

Cr Keith Campbell faced strong competition in Division 3 against former Kingaroy Shire councillor Terry Fleischfresser. At noon today, Campbell led by 1272 votes to 839 and was confident of victory.

In Division 6, voting at 3:00pm had current councillor Cheryl Dalton ahead of challenger Don Pinwill by 1162 votes to 828. Dalton also was confident of success.

The new mayor and re-elected councillors won’t be sworn into their offices until the first post-election Council meeting is held, probably on May 16.

* * *
Mayor Wayne Kratzmann held a small function today to thank friends, family, supporters and campaign workers:

Ex-Murgon Mayor Bill Roberts with wife Mary

Marion Campbell and Alison Iszlaub

Kayleen Bochmann, former Nanango Shire councillor Ros Gregor and Len Bochmann

Cr Kathy Duff (Division 5) with Gary Long and Grant Shelton

Margaret and Winston Burrows and Cr Keith Campbell

Cr Cheryl Dalton and former Wondai Mayor Cr Percy Iszlaub

Andy and Tracey Tunstall, Karyn Bjelke-Petersen, Lyn Lehmann and former Kingaroy Shire councillor Max Lehmann

Wayne Kratzmann and possibly his greatest fan … his dad Keith; Keith topped the ballot for Div 4 of the old Kingaroy Shire Council in 1979

Tarong Community Partnership Fund - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables