Country music star Dean Perrett was inducted into the Hall Of Fame by South Burnett Music Awards organiser Warren Gould (Photo: Past Tense Photography)

March 28, 2024

Multi-Golden Guitar winner Dean Perrett was inducted into the South Burnett Music Awards’ “Hall Of Fame” during a musical celebration held in Blackbutt last week.

The Hotel Radnor hosted the second annual South Burnett Music Awards, organised by local musician Warren Gould.

Guests were welcomed into the venue via a red carpet.

A new category for 2024 was “Country Musician Of The Year”, with the trophy being presented to Nanango musician Paul Ricketts.

Paul has enjoyed a big year, including being named the inaugural Thornton Young Award winner at this year’s Tamworth Country Music Festival in January.

The People’s Choice Award, voted on by the public, was presented to Nanango singer Natalie Fenton.

Other South Burnett awards presented in Blackbutt included:

  • Youth Musician of the Year: Nathan Hartley
  • Live Music Venue of the Year: Murgon Services Club
  • Music Industry Encouragement Award: Tina Torrens
  • Rockin’ Our Abilities Superstar: Jarrod Edwards

* * *

All The Award Nominees

People Of The Industry’s Choice (popular vote)

Voted on by the public to recognise the commitment to their own music and the growth of the South Burnett live music industry:

  • Louise ‘The Diva’ Winton
  • Rufus Jack
  • Natalie Fenton – WINNER
  • Amber Goldsmith
  • Mr Q

Youth Musician Of The Year

A South Burnett-based musician under 25 who has shown commitment and drive in their music and music performances:

  • Lily Heiner
  • Cooper Mollenhauer
  • Nathan Hartley – WINNER
  • Justine Evangelista

Music Industry Encouragement Award

To reward a person in the music industry who has shown a special commitment to the industry and deserves encouragement in their work:

  • Tina Torrens – WINNER
  • Sonia McMahon
  • Amos Pellas
  • Paul Ricketts
  • Lloyd Back

Country Musician Of The Year (a new category for 2024)

To reward a person in country music who has shown a special commitment in the industry and has achieved recognition in country music via accolades, chart position or music honour:

  • Lloyd Back
  • Dean Perrett
  • Larry Cann
  • Paul Ricketts – WINNER
  • Amber Goldsmith

Live Music Venue Of The Year

A South Burnett venue which has supported local acts and prioritised live music throughout the year:

  • Kingaroy RSL Club
  • Murgon RSL Club – WINNER
  • Commercial Hotel, Nanango
  • Hotel Radnor, Blackbutt
  • Carrollee Hotel, Kingaroy

Inductee Into The South Burnett Music Hall Of Fame

To recognise outstanding contributions to live music in the South Burnett and/or for showcasing South Burnett music talent to a State or national audience:

  • Matt Phillips
  • Rob Fitz-Herbert
  • Dean Perrett – WINNER
  • David Nugent
  • Jo Kennedy
Paul Ricketts with Chantal Harth, from CROW-FM … Paul was presented with the inaugural Country Musician of the Year Award (Photo: Past Tense Photography)
Sonia McMahon, from Rockin’ Our Abilities and CROW-FM with award winner Jarrod Edwards and South Burnett mayor-in-waiting Kathy Duff (Photo: Past Tense Photography)
Rob and Clare Fitz-Herbert with Music Industry Encouragement Award winner Tina Torrens (Photo: Past Tense Photography)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.