Trophy winners on Saturday night … from left, Jay Tingiiau, Ryan Cook, Marcus Jensen, Jason Lee and Eliajah Kocavanua (Photo: Supplied)

September 15, 2022

The South Burnett Thrashers celebrated their outstanding return to the Darling Downs Rugby Union competition in 2022 at their presentation dinner on Saturday night.

The night, which attracted about 30 guests, was held at the Kingaroy Hotel.

It also marked the 30th anniversary of the club.

The Thrashers returned to competition after a break of eight years and earned a spot in the semi-finals!

The team finished in third place on the C Grade ladder but were knocked out of the running by fourth-placed Roma in a sudden-death minor semi-final.

The awards were presented by club president Jamie Shirlaw and club stalwart Jason Lee, who also picked up the prestigious “Thrasher Award” shield for Clubman of the Year.

Jamie said the club members were feeling excited about the 2023 competition.

The Thrashers have already contacted the Darling Downs competition with their intention to submit a team.

Club awards for the 2022 season were also announced:

  • Coach’s Award – Cordy Jones
  • Most Improved – Ryan Cook
  • Best Back – Sata Tale
  • Best Forward – Eliajah Kocavanua
  • Players’ Player – Jay Tingiiau
  • Player Of The Year – Marcus Jensen
  • The Thrasher Award (Clubman Of The Year) – Jason Lee

Related article: Thrashers Enjoy A Big Night

The Thrasher Award for Clubman Of The Year was presented by club president Jamie Shirlaw, left, and Cr Scott Henschen, right, to Jason Lee (Photo: Supplied)

Coach Mike Bishop presents Marcus Jensen with the Player of the Year award (Photo: Supplied)

Jason Lee presents the Most Improved award to Ryan Cook (Photo: Supplied)

Players’ Player trophy was presented to Jay Tingiiau by Jason Lee (Photo: Supplied)

Mike Bishop presents the Best Forward Award to Eliajah Kocavanua (Photo: Supplied)
Mike Bishop and Jamie Shirlaw with a commemorative 20-year-old bottle of rum from the South Burnett Thrashers’ 10-year celebrations in 2002 (Photo: Supplied)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.