St Mary's Catholic College Enrolments - click here
What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Cherbourg Legends Team Selected

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News, Rugby League, Sport

Tyrone Murray dashes away from the back of the scrum to score for Cherbourg earlier this year

December 10, 2018

The Cherbourg Hornets Legends team has been announced for the Australian Legends of League game which will be played at Cherbourg on February 9.

* * *

Cherbourg Hornets Legends

The squad that has been named to take on an impressive line-up of ex-NRL stars is:

Shamus Cobbo
Lindsay Bligh
Michael Bird
Bernard Hopkins
Keith Gadd
Daniel Weazel
Justin Prior
Charlie Bond
Charlie Speedy
Stafford Sandow
Trevor Davidson
Tom Langton
Gordon Langton
George Langton
Leo Dynevor
Jeffrey Dynevor
Cain Bond
Victor Alberts
Kevin Saltner
Ricky Bird
William Tonga
Sione Tonga
Francis Renouf
Ronald Saltner
Ron Watson
Tyrone Murray
Fred Cobbo
Neil Stanley
Ken Cobbo
Dereck Georgetown
Ivan Harrison
James Saltner

* * *

MBDA Australian NRL Legends

The slightly revised line-up for the Australian Legends Team:

  • Matt Bowen – ex-Australia, Queensland, Indigenous All-Stars, NQ Cowboys, Wigan
  • Robbie O’Davis – ex-Australia, Queensland, Newcastle Knights
  • Kerry Boustead –  ex-Australia, Queensland, Eastern Suburbs Roosters,  Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, North Sydney Bears, Hull
  • Ashley Harrison – ex-Queensland, NRL All-Stars, Brisbane Broncos, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters, GC Titans
  • Scott Prince – ex-Australia, Queensland, Indigenous All-Stars, NQ Cowboys, Brisbane Broncos, Wests Tigers, GC Titans
  • Ben Hannant – ex-Australia, Queensland, Sydney Roosters, Brisbane Broncos, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, NQ Cowboys
  • Bryan Neibling – ex-Australia, Queensland, Valleys, Redcliffe Dolphins, Brisbane Broncos, Hull
  • Nathan Blacklock – ex-Australia, NSW Country, Sydney Roosters, St George-Illawarra, Hull
  • Chris Walker – ex-Queensland, Brisbane Broncos, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters, Melbourne Storm, GC Titans, Parramatta Eels
  • John Hopoate – ex-Australia, Tonga, NSW, NSW City, Manly-Warringah Sea-Eagles, Wests Tigers, Northern Eagles
  • Craig Teevan – ex-Queensland, Brisbane Broncos, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, SQ Crushers, GC Chargers
  • Terry Matterson – ex-NSW, Eastern Suburbs Roosters, Brisbane Broncos, London Broncos
  • Noel Goldthorpe – ex-NSW, Wests Magpies, St George Dragons, Hunter Mariners, Adelaide Rams, NQ Cowboys
  • Stuart Kelly – ex-Queensland, GC Seagulls, Parramatta Eels, Brisbane Broncos
  • Kevin Campion – ex-Ireland, Queensland, GC Seagulls, St George Dragons, Adelaide Rams, Brisbane Broncos, Auckland Warriors, NQ Cowboys

Plus Steve Lacey, Jim (Sellwood) Adcock, Mark Smith, Lance Rea and Mark McDonald

* * *

The big day of rugby league action will get under way at 9:30am at Jack O’Chin Oval with junior games involving youngsters from Murgon, Wondai and Cherbourg.

This well be followed by a Primary School game between Cherbourg and Murgon; and a High School game between Murgon and Kingaroy.


  • 12:50pm – Cherbourg Hornets v Oakey Redbelly Blacks
  • 2:00pm – Cherbourg Hornettes v Brisbane Natives women
  • 3:00pm – Gyemore Shield – Cherbourg Hornets v Brisbane Natives
  • 5:00pm – Legends of League – Cherbourg Hornets Legends v Australian NRL Legends

Gates open at 9:00am; tickets are Adults $12, Children $5, Family $25

* * *

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *