Member for Nananago Deb Frecklington - click here
What's On In The South Burnett Today?

League Legends Coming To Play

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News, Media Gallery, Rugby League, Sport

Craig Teevan, Hornets captain Bernard Hopkins, Matt Bowen and Golden Oldies Hornets Ron Watson and Frank Malone with some young Hornets in Cherbourg earlier this week (Photo: Int. Legends Of League)

December 1, 2018

Former State of Origin players Matt Bowen and Craig Teevan travelled to Cherbourg this week to announce the details of a very special rugby league game to be played in February.

The Legends of League game will be played at 5:00pm on February 9 at Jack O’Chin Oval in Cherbourg between the Cherbourg Hornets Allstar Greats and the Murgon Business & Development Association Australian Legends.

Former Australian, Maroons and NRL players will be taking part.

The game is being sponsored by the MBDA and Cherbourg Council.

Details of the Australian Legends team have been revealed (see below).

The players will be in the South Burnett for a few days in the lead-up to the big game, visiting schools and community organisations.

The Hornets Legends team will be announced soon.

Also to be played on the day will be the annual Gyemore Shield contest between Cherbourg Hornets and Brisbane Natives, and a game between the Cherbourg Hornettes and Brisbane Natives Women.

The Oakey Redbelly Blacks will also be in action as well as junior matches.

* * *

The MBDA Australian Legends Team:

  • Matt Bowen – ex-Australia, Queensland, Indigenous All-Stars, NQ Cowboys, Wigan
  • Nathan Blacklock – ex-Australia, NSW Country, Sydney Roosters, St George-Illawarra, Hull
  • Ben Hannant – ex-Australia, Queensland, Sydney Roosters, Brisbane Broncos, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, NQ Cowboys
  • Bryan Neibling – ex-Australia, Queensland, Valleys, Redcliffe Dolphins, Brisbane Broncos, Hull
  • Chris Walker – ex-Queensland, Brisbane Broncos, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters, Melbourne Storm, GC Titans, Parramatta Eels
  • Ashley Harrison – ex-Queensland, NRL All-Stars, Brisbane Broncos, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters, GC Titans
  • Craig Teevan – ex-Queensland, Brisbane Broncos, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, SQ Crushers, GC Chargers
  • Stuart Kelly – ex-Queensland, GC Seagulls, Parramatta Eels, Brisbane Broncos
  • Robbie O’Davis – ex-Australia, Queensland, Newcastle Knights
  • John Hopoate – ex-Australia, Tonga, NSW, NSW City, Manly-Warringah Sea-Eagles, Wests Tigers, Northern Eagles
  • Terry Matterson – ex-NSW, Eastern Suburbs Roosters, Brisbane Broncos, London Broncos
  • Noel Goldthorpe – ex-NSW, Wests Magpies, St George Dragons, Hunter Mariners, Adelaide Rams, NQ Cowboys
  • Scott Prince – ex-Australia, Queensland, Indigenous All-Stars, NQ Cowboys, Brisbane Broncos, Wests Tigers, GC Titans
  • Kevin Campion – ex-Ireland, Queensland, GC Seagulls, St George Dragons, Adelaide Rams, Brisbane Broncos, Auckland Warriors, NQ Cowboys

* * *

FOOTNOTE: 2019 player registrations for all South Burnett teams opened on Friday.

Registrations can be completed online (just search for your town’s team)

Huskys Burgers Kingaroy - click hereAndersson for Mayor