Merrilyn Strohfeldt … joining the Darling Downs Hospital and Health Board (Photo: PHN)

March 28, 2024

Deputy chair Dr Dennis Campbell has taken over the role of chair of the Darling Downs Hospital and Health Board following the resignation of Mike Horan AM.

Dr Campbell’s appointment was announced by Health Minister Shannon Fentiman on Thursday, as well as a new appointment to the Board.

The nine-person Board, which will set the strategic direction and oversee the management of the Darling Downs HHS, will now consist of:

  • Dr Dennis Campbell (chair)
  • Ms Merrilyn Strohfeldt – new member
  • Professor Maree Toombs – re-appointed
  • Mrs Patricia Leddington-Hill – re-appointed
  • Dr Ross Hetherington – re-appointed
  • Emeritus Professor Julie Cotter – term still current
  • Mrs Marie Pietsch – term still current
  • Mr Terrence Kehoe – term still current
  • Dr Stephen Harrop – term still current

Ms Strohfeldt, who previously served as CEO of the Darling Downs and West Moreton Primary Health Network, is replacing the South Burnett’s representative on the Board, South Burnett Care CEO Cheryl Dalton.

Dr Campbell previously served in chief executive positions at Toowoomba’s St Vincent’s Hospital, the Royal Brisbane Women’s Hospital and Maryborough Hospital.

“The Darling Downs HHS is fortunate to have secured a distinguished group of individuals for its Board this year, both retaining experienced leadership and attracting exceptional new talent,” Minister Fentiman said.

“Their proven track record and diverse expertise across healthcare, research, community services, and business will be instrumental in ensuring the highest quality care for the community.

“I extend my sincere gratitude to outgoing Chair Mike Horan AM for his dedicated service and leadership, particularly during challenging times.

“His contributions have been invaluable to the Darling Downs HHS.

“I am confident that the newly constituted Board, with its commitment to teamwork and strong community representation, will continue to deliver exceptional and timely healthcare for all Queenslanders.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.