Keegan Wright winds up to smash another boundary for Tingoora Vikings on Saturday

March 1, 2024

Tingoora Vikings are through to the Grand Final of the South Burnett senior cricket competition after an emphatic victory over Murgon Diggers on Saturday.

Vikings, playing on their home ground, won the toss and elected to bat.

Opener Jye Hartwig was lethal with bat, hitting 29 boundaries (22 fours, 7 sixes) along his way to 149.

Keegan Wright (52) also smashed seven boundaries.

Levi Steinhardt (2/58) and Charlie Sippel (2/66) finished with the best bowling figures for Diggers.

Vikings were 8/297 at the end of their 40 overs, setting a massive target for Murgon to overhaul.

Will Webber tried hard, hitting 72 runs off 67 balls but it wasn’t enough for Diggers, who were all out for 182 in 31 overs.

Joshua Unverzagt (4/31) and Keegan Wright (2/23 off three overs) did the damage for Tingoora.

Vikings defeated Diggers by 115 runs, but Murgon are still alive in the competition.

They will take on Wooroolin Warriors on Saturday at Murgon Sportsground to decide the second Grand Final spot.

Tingoora vice-captain Scott Butters finished unbeaten with 35 runs
Will Webber took one wicket for Diggers but was the top-scorer in the Murgon innings

* * *

Qualifying Semi-Final

Warriors’ opener Paul Clegg was bowled by Clinton Blanch for just four runs

The second South Burnett senior cricket competition game played on Sunday was the sudden-death semi-final between Wooroolin Warriors and Kingaroy Services Blue at Wondai Cricket Ground.

Blues won the toss and elected to bat but were all out for 159 in the 38th over.

James Maxwell (46) and Timothy Blanch (31) were the top-scorers.

Chanse Olm (3/38 off eight) and James Searle (3/18 off four) were the pick of the Wooroolin bowlers.

In reply, Warriors started slowly, losing the first three batters cheaply before Olm steadied the ship, hitting a top score of 54.

Olm carried his bat while wickets fell around him.

Next best was John-Paul Schultz with 32 runs.

Lachlan Watson (4/35) and Clinton Blanch (1/11)  were the best of the Kingaroy bowlers.

Despite chalking up three ducks, Wooroolin overtook the Kingaroy target in the 39th over, finishing 8/160.

The two-wicket victory ended Blue’s season.

Wooroolin will now face Murgon this Saturday.

Warriors’ Brett Simpson hit two boundaries before he was bowled by Lachlan Watson for just 10 runs
Lachlan Watson took four wickets for Kingaroy Services Blue

* * *

Gympie A Grade

Crusaders’ Ashley Sippel hits another four …  Sippel was not out 40 when the covers came out

Rain disrupted Day 1 of the Gympie A Grade local derby between Wooroolin Warriors and Murgon Crusaders last Saturday at Lyle Vidler Oval in Kingaroy.

At the close of play, Murgon declared and were 5/263 after 57.2 overs.

Brenton Polzin (110) and Robert McIntosh (57) were the top-scorers.

For Wooroolin, Kieran Askin had taken 2/70 off 16.2 overs; and Matthew Dugdell 1/9 off four.

Day 2 of this last round of the Two-Day competition will be played this Saturday at Lyle Vidler.

Kieran Askin took two wickers for Wooroolin
The ball just clips the bat on the way through … Murgon’s Jason Webber was caught out for six runs
The covers are pulled on to the pitch as rain starts to fall more heavily at Lyle Vidler Oval

* * *

SB Junior Cricket 

Stage 1

  • Nanango Scorpions (109) def. Kingaroy (104) at Alan Downie Sportsfields, Nanango 

Kingaroy innings: Jack Wallis 12, Braxton Threadingham 20; Oliver Shepherd 1/6 and Eddie Morrow 1/1
Nanango innings: Leo Taylor 29, Mitch Mangan 9; Mason Atteridge 1/5 and Jack Wallis 2/11

Stage 2

  • Kingaroy Cobras (6/136) def. Tingoora Vikings (3/134) by two runs at Kingaroy State School

Kingaroy innings: Deegan Zemek 34, Dylan Elder 11; Deegan Johannessen 3/11 and Ben Reilly 1/12
Tingoora innings: Deegan Johannessen 31, Ben Reilly 23; Harry Bartlett 2/15 and Zayleb Cull 1/14

  • Kingaroy Kookaburras (4/169) def. Nanango Scorpions (8/144) by 25 runs at Alan Downie Sportsfields, Nanango

Kingaroy innings: Beau Crawford 15, Mitch Stretton 21; Beau Laherty 2/14 and Patty Atkinson 1/13
Nanango innings: Zac Schipanski 23, Beau Laherty 19; Lachlan D’Arcy 2/17 and Ben Pincott 1/12

Stage 3

  • Kingaroy (5/222) def. Nanango Scorpions (5/194) by 28 runs

Kingaroy innings: Jayden Prendergast 98no, Isaac Hauritz 27; Levi Stenhardt 2/30 and Darcy Harmsworth 1/18
Nanango innings: Josie Black 35, Jeremiah Litzow 38; Joe Carney 1/17 and Isaac Hauritz 1/22

* * *

This Weekend’s Games


SB Junior Competition – Round 12 (8:00am start)

Stage 1

  • Kingaroy v Nanango Scorpions at River Road Oval

Stage 2

  • Kingaroy Cobras v Nanango Scorpions at Kingaroy State School
  • Tingoora Vikings v Kingaroy Kookaburras at Tingoora Sportsground

Stage 3

  • Kingaroy v Nanango Scorpions at Taabinga State School

SB Senior Competition – Semi-Final (12:30pm start)

  • Murgon Diggers v Wooroolin Warriors at Murgon Showgrounds

Gympie A Grade Two-Day Competition – Round 5 Day 2 (12:30pm start)

  • Wooroolin Warriors v Murgon Crusaders at Lyle Vidler Oval, Kingaroy


Junior Representative (9:00am start)

  • Under 16s Intercity Challenge Grand Final – Bundaberg v South Burnett at Bundaberg


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.