Ben and Jack Stead celebrate on the podium after their victory in the Street Stocks 20/20

April 28, 2022

The South Burnett Speedway Club wrapped up its 2021-22 racing season on a high note on Sunday night with a win by two popular local drivers.

Kingaroy’s own Ben and Jack Stead partnered to take out the final of the Street Stocks 20/20.

The 40-lap A Main was raced in two 20-lap parts with a short break in between.

Drivers swapped seats in-field, quick repairs were completed if necessary, and then it was back out on the track, racing in reverse direction.

The local victory capped off a big two nights – and a huge two weekends – of speedway racing in Kingaroy.

The club also hosted the Production Sedan Stampede over the Anzac weekend as well as events for Junior Sedans, Modifieds, National 4s and Late Models.

Queensland champion Daniel Henshaw took out the prestigious Stampede ahead of Matthew Layton and Joel Berkley.

Stephen Laidlaw and Jack Kay started on the front row for the 30-lap A Main but were quickly overtaken by Chris Pagel, Berkley and Layton.

At one point, drivers were racing three-wide on the track.

Last week’s winner, recently crowned national champion Matt Smith, was also charging hard but his luck ran out on Lap 22. Pagel finished in fourth spot.

This was the second of two back-to-back weekends of two-day racing in Kingaroy.

The rain held off for most of the heats on Saturday and Sunday but the overcast skies possibly deterred some spectators.

Ben and Jack Stead took the chequered flag in the final of the Street Stocks 20/20 on Sunday night at Kingaroy Speedway
The Street Stocks 20/20 podium … Darren Ciesiolka / Colin Young (2nd), Ben Stead / Jack Stead (1st) and Dylan Jarman / Ben Langton (3rd)
The Production Sedans Stampede podium … Stephen Laidlaw (5th), Matthew Layton (2nd), Daniel Henshaw (1st), Joel Berkley (3rd), and Chris Pagel (4th)

* * *


Production Sedan Stampede

1. Daniel Henshaw
2. Matthew Layton
3. Joel Berkley
4. Chris Pagel
5. Stephen Laidlaw

Street Stocks 20/20

1. Ben Stead / Jack Stead
2. Darren Ciesiolka / Colin Young
3. Dylan Jarman / Ben Langton

Late Models

1. Carter Armstrong
2. Michael Jenner
3. TJ Horne

National 4s

1. Brock Hancock
2. Josh Rigby
3. Andrew Pickering

Junior Sedans – New Stars

1. Jackson Kunny
2. Riley Killick
3. Jack Vuichoud

Junior Sedans – Top Stars

1. Aidan Rigby
2. Jayden Hancock
3. Kaine Ritchers

* * *

Results of the Speedway Sedans Australia Peanut Bowl Challenge Junior Sedan Series, raced over three rounds, which finished on Saturday night:

Top Stars Junior Sedans

1. Kaine Ritchers – 350 points
Equal 2. Aidan Rigby – 322 points
Equal 2. Jayden Hancock – 322 points

New Stars Junior Sedans

1. Hayden Stewart – 302 points
2. Jack Vuichoud – 269 points
3. Riley Killick – 265 points


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.