Brady Roberts clipped the tyre barriers and rolled on to his roof in a heat of the Production Sedans

October 27, 2021

The South Burnett Speedway Club’s 2021-22 racing season took off with all the usual thrills and spills on track at their October meeting.

In action were Juniors, Street Stocks, Production Sedans, Modifieds and the super-quick Lightning Sprints and their sometimes fiery drivers.

The tyre barriers had a workover with Brady Roberts taking them out in a Productions sedans heat, while they also got a bashing in the Lightning Sprints.

The start of the Productions A Main was eventful, with a large pile-up soon after the start which was followed on the next lap by a massive rollover from Brendan Cowley.

The two incidents took out seven racers from the final, which was eventually won by Gary Harris Jnr.

The season opener was also an opportunity for speedway fans to check out the modifications and repairs made to the Kingaroy Showgrounds track following bingles at the show meeting in May.

Racing was quick with a new lap record set in Junior Sedans.

Jayden Hancock broke a four-year-old record with the new time of 17.425.

The next big event at the Kingaroy Speedway will be the Spring Spectacular on November 13 which will feature Modfieds, Production Sedans, Street Stocks, Juniors and Wingless Sprints.

They build them tough … despite Brady Roberts’ sedan ending upside down; it was restarted once back on its wheels and later earned a spot in the Production Sedans A Main final
Mitch Wogandt enjoys a bumpy ride in the Junior Sedans Top Stars
Brisbane driver Andrew Kimm came out on top in the Lightning Sprints, winning the Ron Eager Lightning Classic; Andrew was top qualifier and started in pole position
It wasn’t always smooth sailing through the Lightning Sprints, with several drivers having unexpected comings together

* * *

Speedway Results

Modified Sedans

1. Josh Harm
2. Nathan MacDonald
3. Kent Shelford

Production Sedans

1. Gary Harris Jnr
2. Joel Berkley
3. Jarrod Peacock

Street Stocks

1. Robert Trapp
2. Ken Carroll
3. Peter Thompson

Junior Sedans – Top Stars

1. Kaine Richters
2. Billy MacDonald
3. Jayden Hancock

Junior Sedans – New Stars

1. Hayden Stewart
2. Taryn Francis
3. Riley Killick

Ron Eager Lightning Sprint Classic

1. Andrew Kimm
2. Darren Baldwin
3. Tyler Stralow

Full speedway results are available online


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.