Toowoomba mayor Paul Antonio with Justin Anlezark and John “Cracker” McDonald, a former Manly rugby league player and the first person to be inducted into the Toowoomba Regional Sports Hall Of Fame (Photo: Hall Of Fame)

August 17, 2021

Eight-times Australian shotput champion Justin Anlezark – who attended school in Yarraman – has been inducted into the Toowoomba Regional Sports Hall of Fame.

Anlezark won gold in shotput at the Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games, the first Australian man to win this event.

He also represented Australia at the Sydney, Athens and Beijing Olympics and the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur.

The ceremony to induct Anlezark was held at the Cobb & Co Museum in Toowoomba on Saturday – his 44th birthday.

Other members of the Toowoomba Regional Sports Hall of Fame include 1930s Australian rugby league captain Herb Steinohrt and the “Crimson Flash”, professional runner Arthur Postle.

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Position Vacant, Hobbs And Associates, Wondai - click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.