St Mary’s Catholic Parish Priest Fr Chukwudi Chinaka, St Mary’s Catholic College Assistant To The Principal John Dalton and Principal Carmel O’Brien presented the Carroll Award for Diligence (Overall Winner) to Meg Wernecke and Elizabeth Watson

November 20, 2020

Saint Mary’s Catholic College annual awards ceremony was a much smaller affair this year but that didn’t stop the smiles on the faces of the proud students as they received their awards.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the school did not have a space large enough to accommodate parents, guests and students so the decision was made to film the awards for parents to view via their Parent Portal app.

The actual awards ceremony was held at a College Assembly on Tuesday in the Mary Knoll Centre.

As usual, awards were presented in sections: Prep to Year 6 and Year 7 to Year 12.

But in a major change this year, the Year 12 Academic Excellence Awards and Dux of the College were not announced.

These will be presented at the beginning of the 2021 school year.

The introduction of the new Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE) system means all results will not be available until mid-December.

Students studying General subjects have only just completed their exams, which contribute 25 per cent towards their final results; and Maths and Science exams contribute 50 per cent.

However, the Awards For Diligence were presented: Georgina Blanch, Callum Burt, Dawn Druery, Oliver Hams, Jordyn Soley, Elizabeth Watson, Sophie Weier, Meg Wernecke and Lachlan Whitaker.

Sponsors for the 2020 awards were the South Burnett Regional Council, Member for Maranoa David Littleproud, Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington, the Kingaroy Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Quota International Club of Kingaroy, Rotary Club of Kingaroy, Kingaroy Lions Club, Jobmatch Kingaroy, Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards, and Mr Michael Carroll.

* * *

2020 Major Awards

  • Encouragement For Excellence Award, sponsored by David Littleproud MP – Diya Sanju
  • Mary MacKillop Award – Dawn Druery and Sophie Weier
  • Jobmatch Student Bursary – Jacob Sutton
  • Aunty Daisy Deadly Achievement Award – Courtney Boney
  • ADF Long Tan Leadership & Teamwork Award (Year 10) – Abby Perrett
  • ADF Long Tan Leadership & Teamwork Award (Year 12) – Elizabeth Watson
  • College Board All Rounder Award – Jordyn Soley
  • Carroll Award For Diligence – Elizabeth Watson and Meg Wernecke
  • Lions Trainee Of The Year Award – Grace Christoffel
  • TAFE Vocational Student Of The Year – Damien Baulch
  • Tom Lambert Award For Excellence In The Arts – Shonae Walker
  • South Burnett Regional Council Achievement Award For Excellence In The Middle Years – Teagan O’Sullivan
  • Kingaroy Chamber Of Commerce And Industry Bursary Award – Jessica Taylor
  • College Christian Living Award – Elizabeth Watson

[Photos by John Dalton]

Courtney Boney was presented with the Aunty Daisy Deadly Achievement Award
Jordyn Soley won the College Board
All Rounder Award
Dawn Druery and Sophie Weier were presented with Mary MacKillop awards
Diya Sanju received the Encouragement for Excellence Award
Jacob Sutton was awarded the Jobmatch
Student Bursary
Jessica Taylor received the KCCI Bursary
Grace Christoffel won the Lions Trainee of the Year Award
Elizabeth Watson (Year 12) and Abby Perrett (Year 10) were presented with the ADF Long Tan Leadership And Teamwork awards
Damien Baulch was presented with the TAFE Vocational Student Of The Year award
Teagan O’Sullivan received the SBRC Achievement Award For Excellence In The Middle Years
Shonae Walker was presented with the Tom Lambert Award For Excellence In The Arts
  • Download the full list of award winners (361kb PDF)

Position Vacant - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.